Sally Green – Half Bad (Half Life #1) | Review

Half Bad by Sally Green is a breathtaking debut novel about one boy’s struggle for survival in a hidden society of witches.
You can’t read, can’t write, but you heal fast, even for a witch.
You get sick if you stay indoors after dark.
You hate White Witches but love Annalise, who is one.
You’ve been kept in a cage since you were fourteen.
All you’ve got to do is escape and find Mercury, the Black Witch who eats boys. And do that before your seventeenth birthday.
Easy.

★★★★★
18079804

First thing I love about this book is the cover. It’s so beautiful and amazing and I’m the person who do judge a book by it’s cover. I was not disappointed! Second thing I loved is the writing is second person. I’ve never read a book written in second person. It was weird at the beginning but it was also awesome and I liked it a lot. In the second part it changes to regular first person but then in third part there is one chapter in second person again and I was happy about that. Really intriguing and interesting. So unique! I also liked that chapters are pretty short (most of them) and I just kept turning pages. I got into this book very quickly and I enjoyed it a lot. Such a great read!

I absolutely loved Nathan. I liked being inside his head and I felt everything he felt. I felt so sorry for him because everyone abused him like it was his fault that his mother was with the worst Black Witch in the world. IT WAS NO HIS FAULT! It was terrible what the White Witches did to him and how everyone (almost everyone) treated him. I admire him because he stayed sane throughout the whole book and he never gave up. He is such a fighter. Even after White Witches bullied and abused him as a child, after they discriminated him as a half code, after they had him locked in a cage for almost two years and after they tortured him on the worst possible ways he stayed normal and never lost hope that he will escape one day and be free. He is such a strong character and we can see his character development through this book.

I also liked Gabriel a lot and I ship him and Nathan. I love their relationship and it was so interesting to read about them. I also liked Rose a lot I’m really sad because she died. Mercury is a bitch. She cares only for herself and I knew exactly what she’s going to ask Nathan in exchange for ritual. Arran was great. He is probabčy one of the reasons why Nathan stayed sane and why he survived his early years. I also liked Nathan’s grandmother, she was really nice and I totally understood why she (probably) killed herself. So powerful! I hated Jessica. Why she had to be so mean and awful to Nathan?! She is his sister! Annalyse was annoying and I didn’t like her at all. I’m glad that Mercury got her and I hope she’ll die. I loved Marcus! He’s so powerful and hot! I liked the end when he and Nathan finally met and how he gave him his blood and everything… amazing! When Marcus was first mentioned in the book I knew I was going to like him and I was right.

I like how this book is about questioning difference between good and bad. White Witches are good and Black Witches are bad but then White Witches abused Nathan because he’s different and they also kill Black Witches and discriminate Half Witches. Is that something good Witches would do? And then, there are Black Witches like Gabriel, and even Mercury and Marcus, who help each other and everything. Yeah, they kill a lot too but whatever. It’s really good and I liked how Sally Green made us think and feel while reading this book. Amazing! Writing style is simple but powerful at the same time and I really liked it. It’s fantastic.

Whe get the cliffhanger at the end, of course. We don’t know anything but I like how Nathan decided to go find Gabriel instead of Annalyse and I was so happy about that. Can’t wait for the next book to come out, I need answers! Definitely recommend but if you can’t handle very vivid scenes of torture, this maybe isn’t for you but read it anyway. It’s so good!

One thought on “Sally Green – Half Bad (Half Life #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

