Sarah Dessen – That Summer | Review

For fifteen-year-old Haven, life is changing too quickly. She’s nearly six feet tall, her father is getting remarried, and her sister—the always perfect Ashley—is planning a wedding of her own. Haven wishes things could just go back to the way they were. Then an old boyfriend of Ashley’s reenters the picture, and through him, Haven sees the past for what it really was, and comes to grips with the future.

★★★☆☆
SARA_DESSEN_branding_v10 [Converted]

I don’t get the point of this book. I was waiting for something to happen but it didn’t. This whole book was about Haven complaining about her life. Boring! At first it all started good, we met Haven and her family and then I waited for some plot twist, something interesting to happen. I waited but nothing really did happen. When Sumner appeared I hoped he and Haven will fall in love or something but that didn’t happen either. I waited, and waited and waited and the book ended and I was so disappointed. Why is this book even written? It doesn’t have a plot, characters are plain and uninteresting and I just wanted this book to finish already. I listened to it as a audiobook and thankfully it lasten only for 4 and a half hours because I couldn’t stand it if it lasted longer. Seriously, I almost fell asleep, that Mia girl who read the book has so calming voice.

My favourite character and actually the only character I liked was Sumner. The other characters are just plain and I couldn’t connect with them. Ashley was so annoying and selfish and I really disliked her. Haven was okay at the beginning but she complained too much and that became annoying too. Okay, you’re tall but you don’t have to say it all the time!

This book got 3 stars only because writing is very good and I read worse books than this one (+ I’m very generous with stars). Sarah Dessen writes really good but this book just didn’t go anywhere. It was boring, what else can I say. Hopefully, the next Sarah Dessen‘s book will be better and have more interesting plot. This was a huge disappointment after Along for the Ride but I guess every writer has one bad book.

One thought on “Sarah Dessen – That Summer | Review

  1. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

