Catherine Fisher – Incarceron (Incarceron #1) | Review

Incarceron — a futuristic prison, sealed from view, where the descendants of the original prisoners live in a dark world torn by rivalry and savagery. It is a terrifying mix of high technology — a living building which pervades the novel as an ever-watchful, ever-vengeful character, and a typical medieval torture chamber — chains, great halls, dungeons. A young prisoner, Finn, has haunting visions of an earlier life, and cannot believe he was born here and has always been here. In the outer world, Claudia, daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, is trapped in her own form of prison — a futuristic world constructed beautifully to look like a past era, an imminent marriage she dreads. She knows nothing of Incarceron, except that it exists. But there comes a moment when Finn, inside Incarceron, and Claudia, outside, simultaneously find a device — a crystal key, through which they can talk to each other. And so the plan for Finn’s escape is born…

★★★★★
neimenovano

It was a bit boring at the beginning (I started this book three times before I picked it up now and finished it) but it became really interesting later so I got really hooked. The idea for this book is amazing. So original and unique and interesting! I was amazed. I liked the plot so much, plot twists were so unexpectable and they just made me turn pages and read more. Characters were also really interesting and I never new who is on who’s side. So confusing! But awesome! I really enjoyed this book and I’m glad I finally picked it up.

Finn was very interesting character, but a bit confusing. I liked him but I didn’t love him and I don’t know why. I knew he’s Giles the second they mentioned it! I just knew it! I liked how he wanted to know who he is and how he was so convinced that he wasn’t born in Incarceron but I really can’t see him as king one day. It’s just not convincing. Okay, he is smarter than everyone else in Incarceron, he does care about other people and all that, but I just don’t see him as king. What I do see, in the other hand, is Claudia as queen. This is so going to happen. She is royal but she is also really nice and she is going to be a good queen, not bitchy queen like others. I liked Claudia, how she did whatever she wanted and how she tried to protect the ones she loves. She’s really strong character. I liked Jared a lot and it bothered me that we never foung out how old is he so I couldn’t really picture him in my head properly. However, I liked him a lot  and I’m glad Claudia had someone like him on her side. She wouldn’t be able to do anything if it weren’t for him, I’m sure. Another character I liked a lot is Attia. That girl is so awesome and she got under my skin. I was so scared when she was dying but I’m glad that didn’t happen. It’s also not fair that she’s still stuck in Incarceron but hopefully they are going to save her from there (*fingers crossed*). I didn’t like Keiro, he’s so annoying and I didn’t trust him even for a second. I always expected him to take the key and run away with it. But I’m also glad he didn’t (I still don’t like him, though). I’m glad he’s stuck in Incarceron! I didn’t trust Gildas too. He’s selfish and he wants to escape and he’d use anyone and everything to get what he wants and I kept that on my mind through the whole book. I’m glad he died, one character less to worry about. Sia is a bitch and her son is an idiot. That’s all I’m going to say about them.

I expected a lot from this book but it’s so much more than my expectations. It turned out to be so different from what I imagined it would be but it’s a good thing. Catherine Fisher is an amazing writer, her writing style is beautiful and she really knows how to make an atmosphere. I felt like I was in Incarceron with all of them! Fantastic. I just realized that there was no romance in this book and it really surprised me because this is YA book and there is always a bit of romance, but not here. I expected that Claudia and Finn would have their romantic moments but there were none of them (I guess we’ll get something in the next book, though). The thing that surprised me even more is that I realized that this book doesn’t need romance between main characters or any romance at all to be good. It workes perfectly fine without any romance and this is probably why I like this book so much (at least one of the reasons). Definitely recommend!

Related:
Catherine Fisher – Sapphique (Incarceron #2)

3 thoughts on “Catherine Fisher – Incarceron (Incarceron #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: Catherine Fisher – Sapphique (Incarceron #2) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: Booktube-a-thon 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

  3. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

