Catherine Fisher – Sapphique (Incarceron #2) | Review

Finn has escaped from the terrible living Prison of Incarceron, but its memory torments him, because his brother Keiro is still inside. Outside, Claudia insists he must be king, but he doubts even his own identity. Is he the lost prince Giles? Or are his memories no more than another construct of his imprisonment?

★★★★★
4499214

I can’t say which one of these two books were better, they were kind of equal but maybe I liked Incarceron slightly more. I don’t now why, though. The plot in Sapphique is maybe even more complicated than in Incarceron, we get to know characters even better and I still couldn’t predict what’s going to happen. Still, after finishing the book, I’m a bit confused, a lot of things happened and I didn’t quite process it yet. But I can say this book was AWSOME and I liked it a lot!

I changed my opinion for a lot of characters and I don’t look at them the way I did in Incarceron and I think that’s a good thing because that proves character development in books. I liked Finn more than I did in the first book. He was so confused here and he felt like he doesn’t belong in this kingdom. I also liked how he wanted to save Keiro and didn’t want to leave him in Incarceron. What can I say, I like Finn! And I liked him even more at the end when he remembered he is Giles and how he attacked fake Giles… Awesome! It was also so cool when he accused the Queen in front of everyone that she organised sending him to prison… Awesome! My opinion about Claudia changed drastically in this book. She was so annoying in this book, she acted like she’s a queen already and she didn’t even trust Finn! Yeah, she had her good moments, but through the most of the book I didn’t like her at all. Keiro… I liked him and I hated him. One moment I adore him and second moment I want to slap him. My opinion about him changed a lot through the book but at the end I liked him and I guess it’s all that matters. I also ship him and Attia. They are so awesome together! Attia is still a badass and I like her a lot. That didn’t change, she just became even better. That girl is fantastic! Jared was great in this book and I liked him a lot but I was constantly afraid that he was going to die while saving the world (face it people, Jared saved everyone!) but I’m glad how it all ended.

The ending was so surprising and unexpectable, like What the hell happened?! No, seriously, how did Jared figured all that out? He’s a genious, he saved the world! I never saw that coming. It was also so confusing when we didn’t know which Giles is real Giles, at the moment I didn’t believe it was Finn but I kept asking myself all the time. Still, I knew it it had to be Finn because there was no explanation for his tattoo and dreams and everything. But it was confusing and I liked what Catherine Fisher did there. Fantastic! And that idea for world collapsing and that it’s actually in ruins but energy made it look beautiful… so amazing, such a great idea. Also, there was no romance at all and that surprised me again, because this is YA book and there is always romance, but not here. Not at all! We got only small glimpses at how characters feel about each other but we never found out is anyone in love with someone. And I liked it, it was so refreshing and it made me love this book even more. Writing style is still amazing and the plot is so unique, I never read anything like this before. This duology is so original and interesting and I’m glad I finally picked it up. Recommend!

Related:
Catherine Fisher – Incarceron (Incarceron #1)

3 thoughts on “Catherine Fisher – Sapphique (Incarceron #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: Booktube-a-thon 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

  3. Pingback: Catherine Fisher – Incarceron (Incarceron #1) | Review | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

