Sarah Dessen – Keeping the Moon | Review

Colie expects the worst when she’s sent to spend the summer with her eccentric aunt Mira while her mother, queen of the television infomercial, tours Europe. Always an outcast — first for being fat and then for being “easy” — Colie has no friends at home and doesn’t expect to find any in Colby, North Carolina. But then she lands a job at the Last Chance Cafe and meets fellow waitresses Morgan and Isabel, best friends with a loving yet volatile relationship. Wacky yet wise, Morgan and Isabel help Colie see herself in a new way and realize the potential that has been there all along.

★★★★★
104378

At first I couldn’t really get into this book but later I got hooked and I had to find out what is going to happen. I listened to this book as an audiobook and that is maybe why it was hard for me to get into it at the beginning but when I finally got into it, I didn’t was to put my earphones down! This is mostly character development book and I liked how we saw Colie getting self-confidence and self esteem. But there was also romance and I liked that. There was no much plot but I liked how we got to know Colie and her life story but we also met the other characters as well.

I liked Colie and I could totally connect with her. I’m glad she finally got some friends and even a boyfriend (I ship Norman and Colie!). I like Norman a lot, she so nice and sweet and amazing and I’m glad Colie gave him a chance, Isabel was so right when they had their talk. I also like his life story – that’s probably the reason why I like him so much, I like damaged characters (everyone got that!). Isabel is probably my favourite character in this book, she’s such a badass. I like how she says whatever is on her mind and how she doesn’t care about anything, only about the people she loves. I liked her even more when she ‘transformed’ Colie and she gave her advices and everything. Also, when Colie saw the picture from the yearbook in her room and she said it’s her cousin, I knew it was her on the photo. I knew it! I like her back story a lot and she’s really an amazing character. Morgan was nice and I felt so sorry for her when Mark cheated on her but Isabel was right all along and I agreed with her from the beginning. Morgan was so stupid when it came to Mark! Mira was eccentric but that’s not why I didn’t like her. I probably didn’t like her because she never stood up for herself and the whole town made fun of her and she did nothing. I just don’t get it!

Sarah Dessen really knows how to write character development book and her writing style is simple but amazing. I also like the title of this book so much because at first I didn’t get it but when all that eclipse stuff is mentioned I realized how fantastic this title is. The ending was perfect, I liked it a lot because everyone are happy but I keep asking myself what happened later. When summer was over, how Colie did in school, what happened to Colie and Norman, did Morgan found someone later? So many unanswered questions! But I guess that is left to my imagination. However, I definitely recommend this book if you want some quick summer read without some complicated plot and all that. It’s great for relaxing!

2 thoughts on “Sarah Dessen – Keeping the Moon | Review

  1. Pingback: Booktube-a-thon 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

