Booktube-a-thon 2014 | Wrap-up

I still can’t believe that Booktube-a-thon is over and that I survived it. Oh my God, this week was fun! I read like I never read before, I finished 6 books and started 7th, I read whenever I could and it was really amazing experience. I also had a lot of fun while watching YouTube videos of all the booktubers and they all did amazing jobs. I also have to say how much I admire Ariel (go check her channel) for making this all happen. She did an amazing job with all the challenges, giveaways, discounts and twitter sprints. You’re absolutely amazing!
Now for what I read during Booktube-a-thon…

DAY 1 (403 pages): I started Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl and I read 403 pages of it. I also started Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen as an audiobook so I can read/listen in every situation and stay productive.

DAY 2 (338 pages): I finished Beautiful Creatures by reading the rest of 136 pages and then I picked up Incarceron by Catherine Fisher and read 202 pages of it. I also continued with Keeping the Moon.

DAY 3 (252 pages): I finished Incarceron by reading the rest of 139 pages and then I started Sapphique by Catherine Fisher and read 113 pages of it. Also, Keeping the Moon.

DAY 4 (254): I finished Sapphique by reading the rest of 254 pages of it. Keeping the Moon was also happening.

DAY 5 (215 pages): I finished Keeping the Moon and added another 228 pages to my total page count because I didn’t count pages of Keeping the Moon in my daily page number (because it’s an audiobook). I also started The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger and read 215 pages of it.

DAY 6 (213 pages): I finished The Devil Wears Prada by reading the rest of 159 pages and I also started and finished Quidditch Through the Ages by J. K. Rowling what added another 54 pages to my page count.

DAY 7 (78 pages): I started Watchers by Dean R. Koontz and read 78 pages of it.

My total page count during Booktube-a-thon is 1981 pages and I’m a bit disappointed because my goal was to read 2100 pages (average of 300 pages per day) but I’m happy with what I read.

CHALLENGES:

1. Read a book with pictures – COMPLETED!
I decided to go with Quidditch Through the Ages by J. K. Rowling for this challenge because this book is very short and it was sitting on my shelf since forever and I’ve never read it before.

2. Start and finish a series – COMPLETED!
Of course I picked a duology because it was the easiest. I read Incarceron doulogy by Catherine Fisher: Incarceron and Sapphique, because I’ve wanted to read these books for a long time and I needed a little push to finally do it.

3. Read a book with red on the cover – COMPLETED!
This challenge was perfect to combine with some other challenge so I did it. I read Sapphique by Catherine Fisher.

4. Read a book someone else picked out for you – COMPLETED!
I had two books for this challenge. First one I picked from my TBR jar and it was Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen but the next day I told my mom about the booktube-a-thon so she picked a book for me too and it was Watchers by Dean R. Koontz.

5. Read a book from a genre you’ve read the least this year – COMPLETED!
It’s chick-lit. I never read chick-lit in my life so I picked The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger for that because I watched the movie recently and I wanted to read the book since then.

6. Read and watch a book to movie adaptation – COMPLETED!
It could’ve been The Devil Wears Prada and it would be easier but I decided to go with Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl because I really wanted to read this book and also watch the movie.

7. Read 7 books and/or the average of 300 pages per day
I didn’t complete that challenge but I was close. I needed to read only 119 pages more to hit average of 300 per day or 328 pages more to finish 7th book but I didn’t do that.

All in all, it was pretty insane week and I feel kinf of relief now when it’s done. I’m also very proud on myself, I never though I would read as much as I did and the first day was really cray (400 pages! In one day!).
I also reviewed all the books I read so here are the links so go check that out:
Beautiful Creatures, Incarceron, Sapphique, The Devil Wears Prada, Keeping the Moon, Quidditch Through the Ages

cats

Leave a Reply

