Dean Koontz – Watchers | Review

From a top secret government laboratory come two genetically altered life forms. One is a magnificent dog of astonishing intelligence. The other, a hybrid monster of a brutally violent nature. And both are on the loose…Bestselling author Dean Koontz presents his most terrifying, dramatic and moving novel: The explosive story of a man and a woman, caught in a relentless storm of mankind’s darkest creation…

★★★★☆ (4.5)
32423

I never thought I would enjoy this book as much as I did. I got attached to Watchers a lot and I even got a bit teary eyed at the end what really surprised me. My mom recommended this book to me so I decided to read it but at first it was a bit boring and I wanted to give up and read something else but I didn’t and I’m glad because of it. It became so much more interesting later and I really connected with characters and I got dozen of little heartattacks while reading. You can’t mess with reader like that! Damn it, Dean Koontz!

My favourite character was definitely Einstein. I never thought I would care that much about a fictional character that is a dog but I did. I don’t even look at my dog the same way after reading this book and I constantly keep searching for some ingenuity in my dog (I’m crazy, I know). I was really scared when SPOILER ALERT! he was sick and I thought he was going to die and also when The Outsider almost killed him. I wanted to throw the book but I didn’t. I was really convinced he died and it was so unfair but then they said that he is alive and I was so happy and I just wanted to hug the author for not killing Einstein. This was rollercoaster of feelings. It was also so funny how he read books and I really wanted him to be my dog then so we can read books together and then talk about them… that would be amazing! It was so cute and touching when Einstein said: I don’t have masters. I have friends. I almost cried at that part, he is so sweet. I also liked Travis a lot, I could connect with him and I liked his relationship with Einstein very much. I didn’t likeNora at all. I wanted to slap her! She changed later and I kind of liked her (I didn’t hate her, at least) but she was annoying and weird. But, we did see her character development and she definitely changed and became stronger and much less annoying. I also liked Garrison a lot, that guy is crazy but in a good way. How he did everything (damn it, he swam in the cold sea in his 71st year just to get to the phone) just to help Travis and Nora and I really admire him for that. And he didn’t even have the reason to help them! Another guy I liked was Jim/James (his name changed through the book, probably by accident), the vet who saved Einstein. When he burned that paper I liked him even more. Vince was interesting. He is also crazy, but not on a good way. I liked him at the beginning, I liked reading about him but when he wanted to kill Nora and Travis I wanted him dead. I have mixed feelings about Outsider. He had to die, that’s not even a question but I kind of connected with him and I felt really sorry for him when we found out more about him. But, when I thought he killed Einstein I wanted him dead without a question. However, whene Travis did kill him, I was a bit sad. I mean, it was not his fault that scientists did all that to him and made him who he was!

Writing was high quality and it was interesting, I especially liked parts with Einstein and Travis and parts with Vince but the rest was very good too. As I said, it was a bit boring at the beginning before everything started to happen but later it was just crazy and super-interesting. The ending was maybe a bit unconvincing because everything ended And they lived happily ever after but it didn’t bother me because I got really attached to these characters and I think that they deserve happy ending. Travis especially. I didn’t think I would enjoy this book as much as I did and I was pleasantly surprised. Mostly because it’s an adult book I wasn’t very sure about reading it but recently I’m trying to be open to many different genres so I gave this book a shot. No regrets! Highly recommend!

One thought on “Dean Koontz – Watchers | Review

  1. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

