Ransom Riggs – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1) | Review

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.
It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.
A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

★★★★★
9460487

I heard so many good things about this book so I decided to finally read it and do not regret anything. This book was so amazing and interesting and creepy (photos!) and perfect. I enjoyed it from first to last page and now I desperately crave for Hollow City, the sequel. I need it! Even though I heard only amazing things about this book I actually had low expectations before I started reading it. I imagined it to be totally different and maybe a bit more adult. First I was surprised that this is YA book, I didn’t know that and it was pleasant surprise. However, I really liked it and it was so much more than my expectations. It deserves all these good review it gets. And even though it is YA book, it’s unlike anything I read but it also is… it’s hard to explain how I feel about this book. But the important thing is that I loved it and that it was amazing.

Jacob is such a relatable character and I liked him a lot. I especially liked his relationship with his grandfather, it was really nice and interesting, that is what got me into this book at the beginning. I also liked to be inside his head and I liked his struggles, when he had to decide is he going to stay with peculiar children or he’s going back home, I could totally feel his pain and struggle to choose the right thing. Also, I liked his determination to keep the peculiar children safe and at the end, when he defended all of them… it was amazing, I like his character so much and I totally connected with him. Emma was also very loveable character, I liked her since the moment she appeared. She’s such a badass! She is a bit bossy and she has these mood changes every once in a while but she’s a teenage girl, this is how she’s supposed to be! And she kind of saved everyone’s butt. With Jacob’s help, though, but she found him in the first place so SHE saved everyone! I ship Jacob and Emma so hard, I forgot to mention that! They are so cute and amazing together. I was a bit weird at the beginning because she was his grandfather’s girlfriend (very weird!) and it was also kind of funny but I really like them as a couple and they really fit together. I liked Millard a lot, he’s funny and cool and it’s very interesting that he’s invisible. I especially liked him at the end when he said “Someone has to be a hero.” It was so amazing and I just knew he’s going get shot. Just knew it! Not fair! I didn’t like Miss Peregrine very much, and I don’t really know why. I just didn’t.

The end… what’s with this ending? You can’t just leave us on a huge cliffhanger like that! Nope! SPOILER ALERT! The action at the end was awesome, it was really intense and interesting, I kept turning pages like crazy. I never knew what was going to happen but one surprise was bigger than any other. I would never guess that dr. Golan was the bad guy and that it was all his fault. Well done, Ransom Riggs! Mystery was really intriguing and amazing, when I started reading I couldn’t put the book down. It’s so good! Writing stlye was simple but beautiful and very engaging, I fell in love with this book on a very first page. Another thing that surprised me was that this book was very funny and I did not expect that, but I did like it. I laughed a lot while reading, there were a lot of funny characters. There were a lot of beautiful, great quotes that I’m definitely going to remember. Also, the photographs just made it even better and gave some kind of creepy atmosphere to the book. It’s also very unique and that’s why I liked it even more. I didn’t think there would be romance in this book but it was a pleasant surprise, especially because the romance was not the main plot in the book and it was only a side plot, important but not the most important. I liked that! Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was much more than I expected, I loved it so much and I recommend it to everyone, it’s amazing and you should read it. READ IT!

Related:
Ransom Riggs – Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2)

2 thoughts on “Ransom Riggs – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: Ransom Riggs – Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

