Kass Morgan – The 100 (The Hundred #1) | Review

In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland… before it’s too late.
Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust – and even love – again.

★★★★★
17332969

I picked this book up only because I’ve watched the tv show that is based on this book and loved it. This book was so awesome, so great and so interesting, I loved it a lot. The only problem I had and it doesn’t have anything to do with the book is that I had to separate my mind from the tv show and accept the fact that tv show and the book are not the same. However, I really enjoyed this book and I’m so glad I read it. It’s so, so good!

I liked Clarke. She wasn’t annoying at all what surprised me because she was a bit annoying in the tv show sometimes and I expcted her to be super-annoying in the book but she wasn’t and I liked that. She was through so much and she is still strong and I admire her because of that. Clarke rocks! I didn’t like Wells very much. He was okay, I guess, but I didn’t like him. However, I did connect with him because I understood that he only wanted for them all to survive on Earth and everyone else made fun of him because he’s Chancellor’s son and I could understand how he felt because of that. But what I don’t understand about him is the rest of things he did. How he can’t understand that he hurt Clarke so much and he just keeps repeating it and hurting her even more. And he wants her to forgive him? No! My favourite character in the book (and in the tv show!) is Bellamy. I love him so much, he’s amazing! I loved him from the second he showed up and I especially like how he risked everything just to go to Earth and protect his sister. He’s so great, protective, nice and also badass. I just love him and I can keep writing about how awesome Bellamy is but I will stop. Octavia was okay but I didn’t like her as much as I thought I would. First surprise to me was the fact that she’s only 14 but I guess that makes sense. But I did like her relationship with Bellamy, how she didn’t want him to be disappointed in her. I also like Bellamy’s relationship with Wells, how they were the only two people who voluntarily came to Earth to protect the people they love and in that way they could undertand each other even though they are totally different characters. I loved that! But my favourite relationship is definitely the one between Clarke and Bellamy. I ship Bellarke so hard, they’re my OTP! I shipped them in the tv show and I shipped the even more in the book. They’re just perfec together, I love them so much! I waited the whole season of the tv show for Bellarke kiss and never got it but here, in the book I got it almost immediately and I absolutely LOVED that. I was fangirling so hard! Hyperventilating! But Bellarke is not the only couple I ship in this book. There are also Glass and Luke. I just love them. I liked Glass from the beginning, she’s very loveable character and I didn’t like Luke from the start but I started liking him very soon. They’re also perfect together and they were so cute at th end. Fangirling again! I have to say it, I hate Graham. He’s such an ass and I hope he will die soon (*fingers crossed*).

I loved the writting style in this book. Kass Morgan did a really good job describing the Colony and also the Earth, especially characters’ feelings when they experienced Earth for the first time. So good and so beautiful! Also, I liked how the characters were different, each character had it’s own personality and I could connect with ach of them. I also liked how Colony was made. Phoenix, Walden and Arcadia, different parts of society – there will alway be the separation as long as humans live. There will always be the ‘better’ ones and the one who worth ‘less’. It was so terrible when the closed Phoenix so they can have the oxygen while they don’t figure out how to fix the problen and they left Waldenites and Arcadians to die. Not cool, but very realistic and I liked that. It was very interesting how there were more parallel plots in the book. We followed The 100 on Earth, Glass in Colony and we also learned about a history of each character and how they ended up Confined, all at the same time. It was very interesting to read the book like that and multiple points of view worked really good here. The idea for this book is amazing and very unique and also very well used because I hate it when book has a good idea and a lot potential and then it’s very badly written but this didn’t happen with this book. I can’t wait to read the second book in the series, Day 21. It’s coming out September 16th this year and I’m going to read it as soon as possible. This book left us not only on ONE cliffhanger but on THREE! Un-fucking-believable! Shit goes down on both Earth and Colony and the book ended. This is not a way to finish a book! Not okay! It’s very frustrating! Nope! I’m gonna die until the second book comes out.

I can’t write a full review on this book without mentioning the differences between the book and the tv show. I know I usually do that while reviewing the movie/tv show but I decided to do it here now. The book and the tv show are very different (CW production did the same thing they did with The Vampire Diaries and I’m actually not surprised.) and I ended up liking both. I could totally see the connection between those two but there are so many differences too. I’m going to start with characters. First, I miss Jasper in the book! I was waiting for him to show up in the book but that never happened and I was a bit dissapointed. Also, where is Finn? In the book, we can find a bit of Finn in both Bellamy and Wells but it really surprised me that there is no Finn in the book, I thought he’s one of the important characters. Also, there is no Raven which kind of makes sense. It surprised me that Clarke’s both parents are dead because in the tv show her mother was still alive and also later we found out that it wasn’t Wells’ fault that Clarke’s dad was executed but her mother’s but here, in the book, it’s different and it IS Wells’ fault. And I have to admit, I like that better in the book than in the tv show. Also, there was much more action in the tv show, much more plot but again, in the tv show we didn’t get to see that much of characters’ past and I liked thet in the book. The thing that bothered me the most about the tv show is that there is no Glass in the tv show and I think it would make it even better if they put her in the show too. All in all, I liked both tv show and the book and I only have to accept that they are two different things and not to expect them to be completely the same, it will be okay. I definitely recommend both book and tv show, I’m definitely continuing on with both. Because I get more Bellarke in both!

Related:
Kass Morgan – Day 21 (The Hundred #2)

2 thoughts on “Kass Morgan – The 100 (The Hundred #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: July 2014 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: Kass Morgan – Day 21 (The Hundred #2) | Review | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

