Lauren Oliver – Hana (Delirium #1.5) | Review

The summer before they’re supposed to be cured of the ability to love, best friends Lena and Hana begin to drift apart. While Lena shies away from underground music and parties with boys, Hana jumps at her last chance to experience the forbidden. For her, the summer is full of wild music, dancing—and even her first kiss.
But on the surface, Hana must be a model of perfect behavior. She meets her approved match, Fred Hargrove, and glimpses the safe, comfortable life she’ll have with him once they marry. As the date for her cure draws ever closer, Hana desperately misses Lena, wonders how it feels to truly be in love, and is simultaneously terrified of rebelling and of falling into line.
In this digital story that will appeal to fans of Delirium and welcome new admirers to its world, readers will come to understand scenes from Delirium through Hana’s perspective. Hana is a touching and revealing look at a life-changing and tumultuous summer.

★★★★★
13273046

I absolutely loved Delirium and Hana was one of my favourite characters so I knew I had to read this novella. I expected it to be about Hana after Delirium but instead it was only Hana’s perspective in Delirium. However, I liked it a lot and I found so many new things about Hana I didn’t know. I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised. It was interesting to see how Hana sees other characters but I was mostly surprised of her feelings for Alex. It made sense that she didn’t really like him and that she was jealous, too, but it surprised me because in Delirium we never got to think Hana felt that way. I never expected Hana had a boyfriend and that she actually loved him and he didn’t love her. I mean, it was a possibility because of her ‘wildness’ and breaking the rules but I never thought she actually had deliria. I felt really sorry for her when she realizes Steve doesn’t feel the way she does, she deserved better than that.The ending surprised me the most. I never expected that coming. How could she do that to Lena? I was shocked. Confused. I felt kind of betrayed. But it made perfect sense and the last two sentences are just awesome, perfectly terrible. Loved this short story so much! I’m really glad I read it, some things in Delirium have much more sense now and I love how it all wraps up together. I’m ready to jump into Pandemonium now!

Related:
Lauren Oliver – Delirium (Delirium #1)
Lauren Oliver – Pandemonium (Delirium #2)
Lauren Oliver – Requiem (Delirium #3)
Delirium Pilot – TV show

4 thoughts on “Lauren Oliver – Hana (Delirium #1.5) | Review

  1. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Pandemonium (Delirium #2) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Requiem (Delirium #3) | Review | Book Monster

  3. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Delirium (Delirium #1) | Review | Book Monster

  4. Pingback: Delirium Pilot | Book to Movie Adaptation | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

