Cassandra Clare – Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) | Review

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.
The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them.

★★★★★
7171637

I’m so glad I finally picked this book up! I absolutely loved The Mortal Instruments and I knew I had to read this trilogy, too. I went into this book without any expectations becuase I didn’t want to be disappointed. However, I did compare it to The Mortal Instruments while reading, a lot. But, I didin’t disappoint me in any way. A lot of people like The Infernal Devices more than The Mortal Instruments but that didn’t happen to me. The Mortal instruments are my favourite series of all time and even though I liked this book so much, it didn’t change my mind. I have to say, these two series have a lot of simmilarities and even some characters reminded me of characters from The Mortal Instruments but these two series are also so different and I enjoyed them both.

Tessa was okay, but quite annoying at times. It may be result of the time she lives in and some things she says and thinks are riddiculous to me and I found that annoying but all in all I liked her character. I didn’t love her, but I kind of liked her. That’s all she gets. My favourite character was definitely Will. What can I say, I love Herondale boys and I can’t help it, Yeah, he can be a total yerk sometimes but I’m pretty sure there is a reason for his behaviour. I’m dying to find out his story! However, I totally love him and I also adore his and Tessa’s relationship, how they love each other one second and hate the other. They are so cute and I ship them so much. I also like Will’s relationships with Jem and Jessamine. I like his friendship with Jem, how he is the only one who can stand him and his behaviour. Also, his relationship with Jessamine is hilarious! I liked Jem, but not as much as Will. I totally picked my team. I felt quite sorry for him because of all that happened to him, his story is so sad and terrible. Also, I was pretty surprised that he’s half Chinese, but it’s kind of cool. I didn’t find very atrractive, though, his sick look and helplessness but he was attractive (in my head at least) when he was in battle. Actually, every time he took his ‘medicine’. However, I like his relationship with Tessa, their talks and all the advices he gives to her… But I can’t see them as a couple. Just no. She has to be with Will! Jessamine was annoying and bitchy at the beginning and I hated her but when I found out her story, I realized I liked her and she reminded me of Isabelle (from The Mortal Instruments) a bit but Izzy was much more badass and awesome. Charlotte was okay and I liked how strong and independent she was, especially because of the time she lived in. Also, Henry was a very loveable character and I felt so sorry because everyone looked down on him and his inventions. I never liked Nathaniel and I never trusted him completely. That bastard! They should have let vampires eat him! Urgh. Magnus was awesome as always even though there was not much of his character in this book. I especially loved (and totally fangirled) when he said: Black hair and blue eyes are my favourite combination. Oh, my God. Alec! I was so fangirling at the moment. It’s perfection. Camille quite surprised me because she was a total bitch and I hated her in The Mortal Instruments but here I even liked her. Sophie was really loveable character, too, and I’m so sorry for her because she lost two people she really cared about. Thomas was very nice, too, and I’m so sorry SPOILER ALERT that he died. Not fair!

SPOILER ALERT The ending was unexpectable and I absolitely loved all the twists. When we found out that De Quincey is not The Magister, I knew it it was Mortmain and that bad things will happen. I really liked how Tessa tricked him at the end, it was so cool. Also, I adored all the cute momenrs between Tessa and Will, fangirling all the way. I liked the idea of clockwork automatons, it was really awesome but also very terrifiing. It was interesting to read about different time period, especially because I’m not really into historical fiction but this was so good and it was so convincing and just awesome.
I loved Clockwork Angel so much, it was intense, mysterious and intriguing. So good. It was interesting to read about my favourote world in different time period, in different place and with new characters. Cassie did fantastic job again, her writting style is absolutely amazing and I love all her books so much. Plot twists are again unexpectable and intense, characters loveable and I could easily connect with them. I can praise this book for hours but I won’t. Just read it, it’s really good!

2 thoughts on “Cassandra Clare – Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

