Dan Wells – Mr. Monster (John Cleaver #2) | Review

In I Am Not a Serial Killer, John Wayne Cleaver saved his town from a murderer even more appalling than the serial killers he obsessively studies.
But it turns out even demons have friends, and the disappearance of one has brought another to Clayton County. Soon there are new victims for John to work on at the mortuary and a new mystery to solve. But John has tasted death, and the dark nature he used as a weapon—the terrifying persona he calls “Mr. Monster”—might now be using him.
No one in Clayton is safe unless John can vanquish two nightmarish adversaries: the unknown demon he must hunt and the inner demon he can never escape.
In this sequel to his brilliant debut, Dan Wells ups the ante with a thriller that is just as gripping and even more intense. He apologizes in advance for the nightmares.

★★★★★
7167271

I read the first book in the trilogy last fall and absolutely loved it. I have no idea why it took me so long to pick this book up but now I did and I’m so glad. This book is fantastic and I enjoyed it so much. I went into it with high expectations and it didn’t disappoint me. Also, I absolutely love Croatian cover (the whole trilogy has amazing covers), it’s so beautiful and creepy at the same time. (Picture at the bottom!)

John Cleaver is amazing character and I absolutely love being inside his head. Yeah, he’s sociopath and a bit of a psychopath but I love him just because of that. I could totally connect with him and even understand him. He’s so interesting to read about and his character is so unique and unusual. I liked Brooke and I ship her and John. When she ‘broke up’ with him, it wasn’t fair. Even though I understand her reasons, I don’t approve it. I never liked Forman but I didn’t expect him to be a demon, either. I hated Curt from the second he showed up and I just wanted to punch him. I’m so glad he ended up in jail. I liked Radha a lot, she was a real fighter and I like how she sacrificed herself to help John and  the other girls. I found Lauren pretty stupid and annoying and her relationship with her mother is not nice at all. She should listen to her mother! I like John’s relationship with his mother, even though it’s not perfect.

Plot twists in this book were so unexpectable and awesome. I never thought Forman was a demon and all that. Also, the way it all solved at the end was pretty cool and original. Can’t wait to find out more about Nobody, she seemes like an interesting character.
Dan Wells is an amazing writer, I love his style. John’s thoughts about killing and death are absolutely creepy and awesome, dark humor is great and all these descriptions of dead people, killing and torture are fantastic. I probably enjoyed this book more than I should but it’s just perfect. This trilogy is so different than any other YA book I’ve ever read and I totally love it. Definitely recommend! It’s one of my favourite trilogies of all time and I can’t wait to read the third and final book, I Don’t Want to Kill You.10607945_1456518381294010_1892738661_n

Related:
Dan Wells – I Don’t Want to Kill You (John Cleaver #3)

 

3 thoughts on “Dan Wells – Mr. Monster (John Cleaver #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: Dan Wells – I Don’t Want to Kill You (John Cleaver #3) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  3. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

