E. Lockheart – We Were Liars | Review

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

★★★★★
18339662

This. Book. Is. So. Good. I loved it so much. It’s mind blowing, awesome, tragic and so, so beautiful. I never expected to like this book as much as I do. I found about this book thanks to Booktube where everyone were talking about it and now I finally read it too. I actually listened to this book as an audiobook and that made the experience of this book even better. I was so much more than I expected it to be.I was expecting some cute, quick summer read with romance and friendship and everything and it was all that and so much more. It’s the best to go into this book without knowing anything about it because that way you’ll experience it on different level and enjoy it so much more. I’m still shocked by how good this book is and I’m still proccesing it all.

I liked the protagonist, Cadence but I didn’t really care about her until the end when we found out the truth. Then I felt really sorry for her, I couldn’t even imagine how she felt. I absolutely loved Gat, I fell for him the second he showed up in a book. After Cady’s accident, when he didn’t call her and didn’t try to reach her in any way and Cady was hurt, I knew there must be a good reason why he didn’t do it. I was telling myself he’s a good guy and that he loved Cady and that he had to have a reason. Of course he had a reason! SPOILER ALERT! HE WAS FUCKING DEAD! I’m still not over it. Nope. I liked Johnny a lot, too. He was childish and never serious but I really liked him. I didn’t like Mirren much and I didn’t care about her at all, by the end, of course. All Liars, except Gat, were snobby sometimes but I liked all the Liars and I could really connect to them. I didn’t like Cady’s mom at all and her sisters as well. They were huge snobs and so annoying. I mean, the fought about who will inherit a house when their father die! And he was still pretty alive! Urgh. I didn’t like Cady’s granddad, too. He was also a snob and a racist and I didn’t understand him at all.

The ending was so shocking, so unexpectable and heartbreaking. Since the beginning I wanted to know what really happened to Cady and had a lot of theories. When I got to the 5th and last part of the book I was shocked. I couldn’t believe it. SPOILER ALERT! I was reading about how all the Liars died except Cady and I didn’t want to believe it. I mean, they were alive summer seventeen! Cady hung out with them for weeks! How can they be dead? And then I finished the book and everything clicked on place and made perfect sense. The ending destroyed me. With all my theories, I never saw that coming! I felt so, so sad while I was realizing that they are really dead, but I didn’t cry. Still, I have no idea how Cady talked to Liars when they were dead. Are they ghosts? Are they her halucinations? I DON’T KNOW! However, it was really sad and beautiful and I don’t really care how Cady talked to them, the real reason is why, and we found that out, so I’m content. Not really, because they died! Damn it! I hate this ending.

E. Lockheart has a beautiful, unique and powerful writting style that I absolutely adore. Her sentences are so dramatic and terrible but amazing at the same time. I especially liked how she managed to personificate emotions. It confused me at the beginning when Cady said that her father shot her and she was bleeding, I thought her father actually shot his own daughter and I was shocked but then I realized it’s a metaphor and I was amazed. It was done so good! I also like the repeating in the book, like the way Cady’s mom encouraged Cady by telling her she’s normal and also when Cady kept saying Gat, my Gat. I gave some spirit to the whole book. Another thing that I absolutely loved were the fairytales that seemed unimportant but they were really important. So good! I keep repeating that sentence in this review. I can’t stop thinking about this book. All the problems that are mentione in this book like racism, snobs, how some people have everything and some nothing, and all these other world problems that were mentioned only once but made us think (especially all the things Gat was talking about) – it was incredibe. I love this book so much and I would like to reread it because now when I know the ending, it would be interesting to read it all over again and see all the preferences to it. I definitely recommend this book to everyone, it’s so good!

2 thoughts on “E. Lockheart – We Were Liars | Review

  1. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

