Lauren Oliver – Pandemonium (Delirium #2) | Review

I’m pushing aside
the memory of my nightmare,
pushing aside thoughts of Alex,
pushing aside thoughts of Hana
and my old school,
push,
push,
push,
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.

Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite.

★★★★★
9593911

I finally picked this book up and it took me few days to read it because of only one reason. I came to the 100th page and stopped. I liked the book, I was into it, but I didn’t like the direction the plot was going. I was stubborn basicly. However, yesterday I read the rest of 170 pages and finished the book because, as I said, I liked the book. It was interesting, very fast paced, there was action all the time and the plot was interesting. SPOLER ALERT! I didn’t like one aspect of the plot – Lena falling for Julian. Just no. I knew that was going to happen since the moment they were kidnapped together and I didn’t want it to happen. Why? Because I knew Alex is alive! I knew it! I was waiting for him to come back through the whole book, I was (kind of) patient and I just couldn’t stand Lena and Julian together. NOPE! Lena didn’t really love Julian because of Julian, she wanted the replacement for Alex! Even she said that: He is not Alex. You don’t want Julian. You want Alex. And Alex is dead. These four sentences were so true and perfect and they described what I was telling Lena during the whole book. I was like: THIS!

I liked Lena in Pandemonium much more than Lena in Delirium. She was stronger, she was fighter and she was determined and I liked that a lot. Insecure Lena from the first book was gone and I’m really happy because of it. We could totally see her character development, she became a real badass! I couldn’t stand Julian. I mean, he was okay, I would probably even like him if I thought Alex was dead but I didn’t and I couldn’t make myself like him. As I already said, he and Lena shouldn’t be together. I’m hating that ship so much. I liked Raven but not all the time. I have mixed feelings about her but I decided that I like her. I also like her relationship with Tack, I hope they’ll end up together at the end. I liked Tack’s character a lot, he was very interesting to read about, I want to know his story but just few minutes ago I accidently read a spoiler about him and now I’m pissed on myself because of it. It’s shocking but it makes sense to me, a lot.

Okay, the ending. It was shocking, at least some parts of it. SPOILER ALERT! Of course I have to start with Alex coming back. I knew it he was alive all this time and it turned out my theory about him being locked up in Cripts was right. When I read the part when we find out that there was a bomb falling on Cripts and that some prisoners ran away, I knew it I was right and that Alex was there. The last paragraph was perfect and I can’t wait to get my hands on the last book because I can’t wait to see in what direction the plot will go. I assume that there will be a love triangle in the third book but I think (AND HOPE!) that Lena will choose Alex at the end. Also, I assume someone will die but I still don’t know who. I hope it will be Julian (*evil smile*). Other thing, the one that actually shocked me, was that Lena’s mother, Annabel, was the one who helped Lena and that they actually saw eachother. I hope they will reunite in the last book, it think Lena deserves it.

Lauren Oliver’s writting is fantastic, her descriptions are detailed but not boring which is hard to accomplish and she makes you feel what the characters feel and connect with them easily. Also, plot twists are great and every little scene that seemes unimportant becomes important later. I absolutely loved that! I liked the way this book was put together, changing between Now and Then and how it filled up one another, very good. The structure of Pandemonium was a bit different than in Delirium but I liked both ways so I’m not complaining. It was interesting to compare it, though.
I especially liked in this book how there was no Alex (I didn’t like that, but you’ll get the point) but we could feel his pressence all the time and she didn’t let us forget about him. Lena’s feelings were so strong and I liked how she was thinking about Alex in pretty much every situation. Just perfect. I fangirled while reading this book only a little, at the end but I think I will do it much more in the last book. Can’t wait to read it. I’m jumping in Reqiuem as soon as I finish writting this. I absolutely loved this book even though I liked the first book a bit better (Alex is the only reason, though). However, this book was better in quality and the plot was more intense but the first will stay my favourite for now. Definitely recommend this series! But Alex is mine! Also, am I the only one who noticed that the first and the last word in the book was Alex? *fangirling*

Oh my God, I think I mentioned Alex in pretty much every sentence. But Alex!

Related:
Lauren Oliver – Delirium (Delirium #1)
Lauren Oliver – Hana (Delirium #1.5)
Lauren Oliver – Requiem (Delirium #3)
Delirium Pilot – TV show

5 thoughts on “Lauren Oliver – Pandemonium (Delirium #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Requiem (Delirium #3) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  3. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Delirium (Delirium #1) | Review | Book Monster

  4. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Hana (Delirium #1.5) | Review | Book Monster

  5. Pingback: Delirium Pilot | Book to Movie Adaptation | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

