Lauren Oliver – Requiem (Delirium #3) | Review

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels.
As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena and Hana’s points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

★★★★★
9593913

Oh, the feels. I don’t know how I feel about this book. But it was amazing. It was just too much for me. I was hyperventilating while I was reading, I couldn’t handle it. But let’s start from the beginning. I liked this book, it was a great conclusion to the while trilogy except the one little fact. WHERE THE HELL IS THE ENDING?!?

Lena was still a great character and I really liked and could connect with her. She was a fighter, she was strong and she fought for what she believed. I liked her in Pandemonium maybe a bit more but that’s irrelevant. I tried to understand her relationships with Alex and Julian but I couldn’t, not really. SPOILER ALERT! I mean, she knows Alex is alive, he’s there and all they do is fight? And she knows she loves him and that he loves her, no matter what he says but she still runs to Julian. Why?! Julian was really put aside in this book and I liked that. He was there only so Lena can have someone, I think. I still don’t like him and I don’t really understand why people love him. Okay, he is understanding and gives Lena time to process everything and is patient with her and that’s fine but I still don’t like him. Alex is 1000 times better. And now we come to Alex. This may be a long one. First, I was so glad he’s alive. I don’t really know what I expected to happen after the ending of Pandemonium, but it definitely wasn’t this. When he and Lena didn’t talk and when they did they fought, I was disappointed. A lot of people didn’t like Alex at all in this book and I was scared he would really turn out to be a jerk but after I finished the book, I don’t think that he did anything wrong. Okay, maybe he shouldn’t say to Lena that he never loved her but that’s all. I could understand him and all he did and I realized I love him even more now. Everyone is so unfair to him (I’m talking about readers, not characters in the book)! I knew from the beginning he did love her and that he was lying because he was hurt because Lena was in love with Julian. Of course he was hurt! Then he hooked up with Coral not to make Lena jealous but to try to let it go and try to be with someone else. Then he realized he can’t do that. Just like Lena did with Julian. Nothing changed and I still love him and I don’t understand how people can like Julian better. Nope. Okay, next character. I didn’t like Coral at the beginning because she was with Alex but that was probably Lena’s influence, since it was written fron her POV. However, later I started liking her, especially after the Waterbury scene. I liked Raven a lot, she was a real badass and SPOILER ALERT! it’s so unfair that she died. I’m not that pissed because of the fact that she did die, I’m more pissed because of the way she died. She deserved to at least die in a fight and not before the fight even began. That bothered me the most. I liked Tack a lot but it bothers me that we still don’t know his story. I read a spoiler about him before starting this book and I was waiting for it to happen throughout the whole book but it never did and now I’m confused. I expect it to be mentioned in Raven short story now, because it has to be somewhere. Also, I knew it that Tack and Raven are together! I ship them so hard. I loved how Lauren Oliver described their relationship, how they’re strangling but supporting each other at the same time, like two plants that grow together. Amazing! I didn’t like Hana’s POV in this book. It was good and it definitely helped the story to be more realistic but I didn’t like it. After reading Hana, short story, I looked at Hana differently and I couldn’t help myself. I don’t like her anymore. It was interesting, however, reading about her struggling and how she was confused because the cure didn’t work the way it should. Also, how she coped with the fact that she’s marrying Fred and realizing what kind of person he is. But I still didn’t like it because I didn’t like Hana. At the end I liked her a bit, SPOILER ALERT!, when she helped Lena escape and said Fred not to leave the house so he would die in explosion. That was good, that was Hana I liked in the first book! I hated Fred and wanted him dead, at least that wish came true. I didn’t like Annabel much, either. But she was acceptable. However, I liked that Lena finally found her mother and reunited with her. I liked their talks and how Annabel let her go to Portland with them at the end. That was nice.

Now, what the hell happened at the end? HOW CAN THAT BE TH ENDING OF A TRILOGY? Well, it can’t! I read the last page and I was shocked. That was the end? THen I thought that maybe, since I was reading an ebook, I don’t have an ending because of some mistake and that there is some epilogue or something. Then I went and read some reviews on the book and realized that this actually is the end and that there is no more. Huge disappointment. However, I have mixed feelings about what happened at the end. While reading last 15-20 pages I really thought everything will end up good and it was happening, SPOILER ALERT! Hana helped Lena escape and she herself escaped and left Fred to die, Lena found and saved Grace, Lena FINALLY! reunited with Alex and they were together again and EVERYTHING was perfect but I still needed to know whether they won or lose in a war, what happened to the other characters, why Alex stayed behind and didn’t go with Lena immediately… so many questions unanswered! I just needed one tiny 10-pages long epilouge that would explain what happened after. Just that! Still, the more I think about it, I like the ending more because it left everything to our imagination. But that’s not really the point. The point is that the ending is not really an end becuase that’s how the life is. It ends the moment we die, never before so even if Lauren Oliver gave us the epilogue and told us what happened later, there would still be time after that when bad things could start happening again. However, no one cares about that because we got the ending. Well, with this book, WE DIDN’T! And it was amazing. I don’t approve it, but I can kind of understand it and it was brilliant. But I still want to know what happened to everyone!

Lauren Oliver is an amazing writter and her describing and explaining the whole new world is amazing. It seemed so real, like it’s really happening and that’s what I liked the most. The whole trilogy was realistic. The characters were very easy to connect with and I found myself caring about every single one of them and got really attached to them. I was smiling, I was teary-eyed, I was frustrated, I was angy, I was sad, I was happy.. I experienced this book on every single way and left a bit of my heart in it. The whole trilogy was fantastic, I’m so glad I finally finished it even though I’m a bit sad too because I know there are no more books waiting for me to read them from this series. I’m probably going to make my own ending of this book and maybe I even decide to write it down, who knows. Somehow, I think that’s exactly what author wanted, for us to make up our own ending. I can definitely say that this is one of my favourite trilogies of all time (another one!) and I’m definitely going to reread it in the future. Unfortunately, I don’t own a copy of Requiem but as soon as it comes out in Croatia, I’m going to buy it, that’s for sure. However, I highly recommend this trilogy to everyone, it’s beautiful, it’s a rollercoaster of feelings and it will definitely make you think! Damn it, I don’t want to say goodby to these books! I refuse!

P. S. I told myself that if Lena ends up with Alex at the end I would rate this book with 5 stars and if she doesn’t I would rate it with less than 5 stars, no matter how good it is. Now I don’t really know did she end up with Alex or she didn’t but I think she did according to the last scene with them, and I’m glad because of it because I don’t know if I would be able not to rate this book with 5 stars.

Related:
Lauren Oliver – Delirium (Delirium #1)
Lauren Oliver – Hana (Delirium #1.5)
Lauren Oliver – Pandemonium (Dalirium #2)
Delirium Pilot – TV show

6 thoughts on “Lauren Oliver – Requiem (Delirium #3) | Review

  1. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  3. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Pandemonium (Delirium #2) | Review | Book Monster

  4. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Delirium (Delirium #1) | Review | Book Monster

  5. Pingback: Lauren Oliver – Hana (Delirium #1.5) | Review | Book Monster

  6. Pingback: Delirium Pilot | Book to Movie Adaptation | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

