Rainbow Rowell – Fangirl | Review

In Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories? Open her heart to someone? Or will she just go on living inside somebody else’s fiction?

★★★★★
17286849

I heard only good things about this book and the title was really promising, too. However, I didn’t expect Fangirl to be that good. I really enjoyed it! I listened to Fangirl as an audiobook and that was a really good choice because if I didn’t have it on my phone as audiobook, I probably wouldn’t read it any time soon. Experiencing this book while listening to it was amazing, I especially liked it how the main plot was narrated in woman’s voice and Simon Snow’s story in man’s voice so we don’t get confused. Very good!

I liked Cather a lot. I found myself at her, especially at the beginning. She was so me, it was a bit scary! A lot of people who read the book don’t like her, but I do because I could connect with her and understand her. Sometimes I wanted to slap her, mostly because she was complicating everything without a reason (*khm* Levi *khm*) but most of the time I liked her. On the other hand, I hated Wren. She was the type of person I really don’t want in my life. She was annoying and I didn’t like her at all. Also, she was terrible to Cath. She got a bit better at the end when she realized how stupid she was, but I still didn’t like her. I liked Raegan a lot. She was awesome. I didn’t like her at the very beginning but the more I read of this book, I like her more. She’s really cool and I’m glad she became friends with Cath. I liked Nick at the beginning but that didn’t last for long because we found out how big douche he actually is. Jerk. I also liked Cath’s dad, he was really cool and even though he wasn’t a perfect parent he was still great father and I liked kim a lot. Cath’s mom, in the onter hand, was terrible bitch and I totally hated her.
And I saved best for last because I have so much to tell. Levi. I’m in love. He’s perfect. I usually don’t fall for guys like him in books but he was the character that everyone loves. His character was actually pretty unique, or it was the description of him unique. However, I never read about a character like him before and I loved it so much. I liked it how he wasn’t perfect and it was mentioned a lot of times, but he still seemed perfect and I know I’m not the only one who felt that way. The thing that surprised me the most was when we found out that he can’t read, that he can’t focus on reading, actually. It was such an unique detail and I loved it, especially because Cath is writer and reader. All in all, Levi was really amazing and I totally ship him and Cath, they’re so cute together.

I’m really happy with the ending of this book. It was expected, kind of, but it was great. Just how this book was supposed to end. Happily. There were no unanswered questions left, we got happy ending we all expected, Cath was happy and everything was good. That is how a cute, happy book was supposed to end and I don’t have any complaint about it.

I was smiling pretty much all the time while reading (listening?) this book. I absolutely loved the romance, I loved the realtionship between Cath and Levi, how awkward but perfect at the same time their relationship was. Just amazing. Just. Also, I liked that this book was not all about romance, even though the romance was a big part of it. Family problems and situations made this book even better and more interesting. I have a mixed feelings about one part of the book. Simon Snow. I don’t know how I feel about it. First, we all know it’s actually Harry Potter, just changed, and I liked that. I liked how Cath was obsessed with Simon and I liked her fanfiction but I’m still not sure whether I liked it or not. I’m talking about excerpts from books and Cath’s fanfictions at the ends of every chapter. I think they made this book better and we actually got to read a book within a book, which is really great but I also found myself not really paying atention while reading these parts of the book because these weren’t really important to the plot of the book. However, I liked how these two worlds intertwined. Basicly, I did like Simon Snow parts of the book, but I didn’t really care about them.
Rainbow Rowell is an amazing writer, I absolutely adore her style and plot and characters. This was my first Rainbow Rowell book ever and now I’m sure I’m going to read her other books in near future. I loved this book so much, it was very fun and relaxing and I found myself unable to stop reading it. So good! It totally deserves all the hype and I can totally understand now why it’s so popular. Definitely recommend!

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Rowell – Fangirl | Review

  1. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: August 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

