Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles #2) | Review

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.
Sometimes life-ending.
Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan’s eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there’s no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town’s tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.

★★★★☆ (4.5)

7842288I have mixed feelings about this book. I went into it with high expectations because I absolutely loved the first book, Beautiful Creatures and I hoped that this book will be even better. It wasn’t. I hated the beginning of this book and it took me a while to get into it and I really struggled while reading. At one point I was actually thinking about giving up and not finishing this book. The beginning just reminded me of New Moon, second book in Twilight saga, a lot and I couldn’t stand it. However, I pushed myself to read it and after about 100-150 pages it became interesting because finally something started to happen and it was much better. The more I read, I got more hooked into the whole plotline but it was still a bit expectable. But I enjoyed the book, after all and that’s why the rating is so high. Still, I don’t have the need to continue with the series now.

Lena was so annoying in this book! I liked her a lot in the first book, but here I couldn’t stand her. I wanted to slap her! She was so selfish and stupid and irrational. I do not understand that girl! Nope. I liked Ethan, but much less than in the first book. His behaviour was also irrational and he was sometimes annoying, too, but at least I could understand him because Lena was such a bitch to him and she hurt him. My favourite character in this book is probably Link. He’s hilarious, he’s good friend and such a great sidekick character. I totally loved him! But what happened to him was so obvious! Also, the way he dealt with everything that happened was amazing. I just love his character a lot. I also liked Ridley in this book a lot, but I wasn’t that shocked when SPOILER ALERT! she lost her powers. It was something I’ve already seen in other books, it wasn’t really unique, but I have to say that I liked it. Amma was still a badass but I’m sorry that we didn’t get to see more of her in this book but I liked it how she was always there to kick some butts. Love her a lot! I didn’t like John Breed at all, I just didn’t. But I can totally see him playing an important role in next books. I liked Liv a lot, she was such an interesting character and I loved the decisions she made, they were RATIONAL! Finally some character who actually use brain! What a refreshment. Macon was a badass and I loved him a lot, SPOILER ALERT! I’m so glad that they brought him back. I also realized that I ship everyone with everyone. I ship Ethan and Lena, I ship Ethan and Liv, I ship Liv and Link, I ship Link and Ridley, I ship Lena and John… I ship every possible couple out there. But, my favourite ship is definitely Ethan and Link, I love their friendship so much!

There were lots of plot twists, especially at the end, some of them expectable, some of them pretty unexpectable. SPOILER ALERT! Thing that probably surprised me the most was that Macon was alive and that Lila saved him, but I was happy because of that, I love Macon! But it was pretty obvious that Lila was Macon’s love, from the moment Ethan thought how Marian could’ve been his love, I was like: Nope, it’s Lila. And I was right. It also surprised me that Lucille was caster cat and that Ethan could see through her eyes, it was awesome! Also, finding out that aunt Prue was involved in Caster world was pretty interesting but I can’t say I was surprised. As I said, it didn’t surprise me at all when Ridley lost her powers but it was a good twist and I like her much more without her powers. Also, when Link came to Ethan at the end of the book, I immediately knew it he was bitten. It was so obvious! But I liked how Link dealt with the situation, it was so funny!
However, the cliffhanger at the ending was so good! You get to see that everything is kind of fine and that the end is here, but then there is that last chapter with Ridley that totally confused me. What the hell was that? What did she do? I have so many questions, but I know nothing good happened. That actually the only reason why I want to contiune with the series, just to find out what happened to Ridley.

I liked this book mostly because it made me laugh so much. There were a lot of funny moments, mostly thanks to Link. I absolutely loved the humor in this book. What I didn’t like was romance, it was just too pathetic and dramatic. All that whining because of Lena and her ‘destiny’ was a bit too much, even for me, and I’m a sucker for any romance. Descriptions in this book were pretty good and all in all Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl did a good job with this book but I get the feeling that they are overdoing it. They could’ve stop after first book if they changed the ending a bit and I have a feeling that third and second book will just be too much and that plot won’t be as good as the plot in the first book, but maybe I’m wrong. These books are far from my favourites, but they are good and I would recommend it to people who are new to the genre. Still, these are good books, I just didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. Who knows, maybe the third book, Beautiful Chaos, is better…

Related:
Kami Garcia & Margater Stohl – Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1)
Beautiful Creatures – Movie

2 thoughts on “Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl – Beautiful Darkness (Caster Chronicles #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: Kami Garcia & Margater Stohl – Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: Beautiful Creatures | Book to Movie Adaptation | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

