Jennifer L. Armentrout – Obsidian (Lux #1) | Review

Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth.
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.
The hot alien living next door marks me.
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
If I don’t kill him first, that is.

★★★★★ 12578077

This book was so entertaining. I heard only good things about this book and now I understand why. I read this book because it was Little Book Club’s book of the month for category ugly cover (btw. I don’t find this cover ugly. Sure, it’s not the most beautiful cover ever, but I’ve seen worse). I had high expectations for this book and I was totally wrong which doesn’t necessary mean that I was disappointed. Because I wasn’t. This book was so much different than I expected and I enjoyed reading it so much. It was a quick, fun read and I managed to finish it in two days because when I started reading, I couldn’t stop. I was smiling and laughing through the whole book. It was maybe a bit cheesy but I didn’t care at all. Yes, it did remind me of Twilight at some parts but it was all done so much better than Twilight and I couldn’t care less about the similarities. I absolutely loved two main characters, Daemon (LOVED him isn’t strong enough, OBSESSED with him may fit better) and Katy. I absolutely adored their love-hate relationship, I never read about two characters loving and hating eachother at the same time as much as they do. They were just perfect and I think they’re on a good way to become my OTP and take the throne from Clary and Jace. And now when I’m mentioning Jace, I have to say that he’s still on the throne of my fictional boyfriends, but few more books in the Lux series and he may share that throne… Just saynig. I absolutely loved dialogues in this book, they were so funny and well done. I love Jennifer L. Armentrout’s writing style, it’s simple, casual and funny, very easy and fun to read. I can’t express how much I enjoyed reading this book and how glad I am that I finally picked it up. Now I can’t wait to read the second book, Onyx, but that will have to wait for a while because I have a bunch of other books to read first. I recommend this book to everyone, especially if you feel low and want something to cheer you up – this book is perfect for that!

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.
A lot of people say that they would enjoy the book more if they didn’t know that this is a book about aliens because all the clues sounded cheesy when we already knew about alien stuff and I have to agree, even though I don’t think it took too much off from the story. I enjoyed it a lot anyway, but it was a bit cheesy sometimes. But what was more cheesy and what bothered me more were Twilight-like scenes – googling what he is, stopping the truck to save the girl, the ‘other ones’, non humans sit all together in the caffeteria and don’t want anyone, one friendly girl (Dee/Alice)… However, as I already said, these scene were done much better in this book than they were in Twilight and I didn’t really care about all these similarities, but I couldn’t not notice it. But, whenever there was a scene like that, I kind of wanted to scream.
However, there were some very good scenes that I loved so much. First, the scene when Katy and Daemon meet for the first time. I fell for Daemon immediately and I knew I was going to like relationship between these two characters. Also, the swimming scene at the lake was amazing. Car washing scene was so hilarious, I was fangirling so hard! Caffeteria scene is probably my favourite in the whole book, it was so funny! And I loved Daemon’s reaction on it. Basicly, I love all the Katy/Daemon scenes because they are perfect together and I ship them so hard! Also, I absolutely adore when Daemon calls Katy Kitten. I just love it, don’t ask me why. What was REALLY FRUSTRATING were all these scenes when they almost kissed but neved did. After second, third? time I couldn’t handle it anymore and I thought if that happens once more, I would scream. Thankfully, that didn’t happen and next time Daemon actually kissed her. What I did, except that I fangirled so hard, was that I actually took my phone and played the Pirates of the Caribbean theme song (ship, you get it?), I just couldn’t help myself, I was so happy. Oh, another fangirling scene was when they were sleeping together (just sleeping, nothing more). It was so cute and perfect and I loved it so much. Okay, enough of my favourite scenes, the whole book is my favourite scene, I guess. Only one more thing, part with the dance was maybe a bit too obvious, but I liked it anyway because I like a good cliche (cliches are cliches with a reason, right?).

I liked the detail that Katy is a book blogger, I could totally understand her in that because I’m the one as well and it was so cute when Daemon saw her blog and didn’t make fun of her because of it. Aww. I think it is obvious how much I love Daemon, I loved him grom the very beginning and I love all of his sides – both his sarcastic, jerky side and his cute, caring side – he’s perfect anyway. What bothered me a bit was Daemon’s last name. Black. Couldn’t it be something more original? Also, it doesn’t really fit, considering that he is basicly made of LIGHT, right? I did like Dee, but not too much, I just don’t have some big opinion about her, but I do like her. I was more focused on her brother, so that may be the reason.

The whole alien idea was really cool and very well done. Creatures made out of light and other creatures from sister planet made out of shadows – so good! It all made sense and I really enjoyed finding more about Luxen and their planet and I want to know more. However, it was maybe too much sometimes, Luxen are maybe a bit too powerful, but only a bit. Also, I can’t wait to find out what is their cryptonite. Another thing that I liked was the triplets thing, that all aliens come in triplets, that’s not really usual in books, at least I haven’t read much books with triplets (one, to be precise, aside this one).

Plot twist that surprised me probably the most was that Dee and Daemon have another brother. I was like: Another Daemon Black? I’m taking it. There is never too much hot guys in books. But then I found out that he’s dead and I was a bit disappointed. BUT I have a theory! I think he’s not dead nad that he will show up in some next books and cause some trouble. And also, I have another theory: Dee will fall for some human in next books and Daemon will be against it even though he fell for human himself. These are just my guessings and I don’t have to be right, though.

I was very happy with the ending. Not much with the ‘battle’ scene at the end  (even though that was amazing as well, especially at the moment when I thought they were all going to die and I had no idea how they’d survive) but with the Katy/Daemon talk about their ‘relationship’ at the very end. I’m so glad that they finally showed how they feel for each other even though they still don’t want to fully accept it, but I’m even more glad that they didn’t end up together because I love their love-hate relationship and I don’t want to put an end on it, not even if that means they won’t be the cutest couple ever. I know they will accept their feelings for each other eventually and that they’ll be together then and I know I’m going to love it, but I’m happy now as well and I can’t wait to see how are they going to be around each other in the second book.

I have one more thing to say. Daemon’s POV at the end of Obsidian, which I believe is a bonus content, was absolutely perfect. I could finally understand Daemon better and it was so awesome to see how he felt during some of my favourite scenes. Thank you, Jennifer L. Armentrout, for writing these bonus scenes! And also, thank you for writing this amazing book!

2 thoughts on “Jennifer L. Armentrout – Obsidian (Lux #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: LittleReadaThon #1 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: September 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

