Lauren Oliver – Panic | Review

Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.
Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.
Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn’t know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.
For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

★★★★★ Panic_HC_JKT_des4.indd

I had some trouble with getting into this book at the beginning and I have no idea why because now when I’m looking back at it, the beginning was as good as the rest of the book. I guess I just wasn’t in the mood… But this book was very good, intense and interesting to read. Lauren Oliver writes beautifuly and I’m in love with her writing. The whole idea for the book was pretty awesome and I knew it I was going to love from the moment I read the summary, even though it reminded me of The Hunger Games a bit, but when I finished the book, I realized that it’s not like The Hunger Games at all. I really liked how all the characters had their reasons for participating in Panic and how they were ready to do anything to get what they wanted. This was a good book and Lauren Oliver did another good job with this book. I enjoyed it a lot and I’m so glad I finally picked it up. What I liked the most about this book was the fact that I listened to it as an audiobook. It was a fantastic choice. I probably wouldn’t enjoy it as much as I did if I read it as an ebook or read the physical copy. The girl who narrated was amazing, at intense parts she was reading so fast, it totally made the atmosphere and I got really excited. Very good! She was just perfect and I wish more narrators do it that way. If you can, I definitely recommend to you to listen to this book as an audiobook. You won’t be disappointed, I promise.

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

I have to talk about challenges in Panic. They were so awesome, but also very suicidal! That jump at the beginning was not that scary even though I would never have a courage to do it, but it was nothing compared to other challenges. My favourite challenge was the one when they had to cross the highway blindfolded. Crazy! They could’ve all die there! But it was so good. I also liked Nat’s individual challenge with tigers, so terrifying! The challenge in the old house sounded a bit to easy, but the fire definitely spiced it up. I had no idea how’re they going to survive that. Heather’s individual challenge with russian roulette was so cool, and I absolutely loved how Dodge came and made the scene with ‘checking if the bullet is really there’ and then took the bullet and basicly saved Heather’s life. AWESOME! I loved all the challenges, but I was most curios about the joust and it turned out really good, but maybe a bit too easy.
The whole ending part was very intense and I was so excited to find out who’s going to be a winner. I couldn’t guess but now when I know it’s Heather, it’s kind of obvious because she’ a main character after all. When Nat basicly kidnapped Dodge I was like: What the hell are you doing? He has to win! I thought we had a deal! It was so intense. And then Nat gave Heather keys of Dodge’s car, and I was so scared that something bad would happen to Heather because of all that Dodge prepared and she didn’t know about. I really thought she was going to die. However, she didn’t die and I’m happy because of that. The last few sentences before the epilogue, when she got out of car and went to the tiger, were absolutely perfect. Great ending! The epilogue was nice too, but when Lily went to the cliff and wanted to jump, I was so sure she was going to die, but thankfully that didn’t happen. The last few sentences of the book were really nice and inspiring. Lauren Oliver really knows how to write endings (even though sometimes I get frustrated by them *cough* DELIRIUM TRILOGY *cough*). 

I liked Heather, it was nice to see her character development, how she was ready to do everything just to keep her sister safe. Maybe she was a bit annoying at the beginning with all that whining about Matt, but when she got over that and focused on Panic, I liked her much more. Also, it was very cute to read about her realizing that she has feelings for Bishop, I really ship those two, since the very beginning. I absolutely loved Bishop, he’s my favourite character and finding out his secret was so interesting. I didn’t see it coming, but when we found out that Dodge realized his secret, but we still didn’t know what that secret is, I just knew it he was the judge. It made perfect sense, and I was right. I just loved that plot twist. However, I couldn’t guess why he was a judge, but when we found out that he wanted to give the money to Heather, I loved him even more. I just love Bishop, he’s so selfless and he really loves Heather and all he did was for her. I didn’t really like Dodge at the beginning, I have no idea why, but later I liked him, a lot. I loved his reasons for playing Panic, how he wanted to give the money to his sister, but also he wanted the revenge. I could totally understand his character and I ended up really liking him. I could connect with all three characters I talked about, but there was the one I just didn’t like. Natalie. That selfish bitch!  How she made deals with both Heather and Dodge, just to make sure she would get the money even if she lose. Not cool. And how she didn’t have to do some challenges? And when she failed at Highway challenge, she still stayed in Panic? Not cool at all. Her character was really frustrating. And at the end, when she kidnapped Dodge and basicly sent Heather to the death, I hated her so much! It’s totally not fair that Heather gave her third of the money she won. Nat totally didn’t deserve it. Ann was amazing character, I liked her a lot. How she let Heather and Lilly stay at her house after their mom basicly kicked them out from the hous (which was not okay at all, I hate that woman!), it was very nice of her. I liked her even more when she didn’t kick Heather out of the house after tigers escaped. I totally loved the beckstories of all the character and that really helped me to connect with them.

2 thoughts on “Lauren Oliver – Panic | Review

  1. Pingback: LittleReadaThon #1 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: September 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

