Jennifer Lynn Barnes – Nobody | Review

There are people in this world who are Nobody. No one sees them. No one notices them. They live their lives under the radar, forgotten as soon as you turn away.
That’s why they make the perfect assassins.
The Institute finds these people when they’re young and takes them away for training. But an untrained Nobody is a threat to their organization. And threats must be eliminated.
Sixteen-year-old Claire has been invisible her whole life, missed by the Institute’s monitoring. But now they’ve ID’ed her and send seventeen-year-old Nix to remove her. Yet the moment he lays eyes on her, he can’t make the hit. It’s as if Claire and Nix are the only people in the world for each other. And they are—because no one else ever notices them.

★★★★★ 13628172

I started reading this book totally at random but once when I started reading it, I just couldn’t stop. ThHis book is so addicting! I listened to this book as an audiobook and it was my first non-contemporary audiobook (I read only contemporary books as audiobooks before this one) and I found myself really enjoying it. It was so much more than I expected it to be. I never heard about this book before, or about this author, I haven’t heard anyone talk about this book or anything but I found the audiobook and decided to give it a try because the plot sounded interesting. And hell, it was! So awesome! Characters were loveable and amazing, plot was interesting, love different and cute… Just amazing. What a pleasant surprise this book was. Also, the writing style was somewhat different but very good. I loved all the repetitions throughout the whole book, it made the words more powerful, more magical. This book is just amazing and I’m so, so glad I read it. The whole setting was very intriguing, new world, Nobodys and Nulls and Sensors, so interesting to read about. Jennifer Lynn Barnes did an amazing job with this book and I’d really like to read more of her books in the near future. Another thing I liked about this book was the fact it’s a standalone. Yeah, I’d like to read more about these characters and this world but this book was the perfect the way it is and there is no need for the next book to exist. A lot of todays authors over do it sometimes with makin a series out of one book whene there is no need for it, but Jennifer Lynn Barnes knows where to make a line and I’m glad because of it. I’d like to say something about the cover, as well. It’s beautiful. At first, I didn’t really get it’s connection with the book and the plot, but now when I’m finished, I can totally see what it represents and I’m amazed. Whoever did the cover, made a fantastic job with it. OMG, this book was so good and I want to repeat it over and over again until everyone read it so I can have someone to fangirl with. Read this book!

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

The idea of Nobodys and Nulls, people born wrong with too little ot too much energy is freakin’ awesome. I knew I’d enjoy this world the moment I read the synopsis. And I was right. I liked how the whole world was explained and put together very well and it all made sense at the end. Also, I found myself really wanting to be Nobody. Yeah, not Null, Nobody. I just like them and I think they are awesome. Less than shadow. Less than air. Nobody. God, how I love that quote. It’s my favourite quote from the book. So good!

The ending. Was so intense. I was pretty sure this book was end happily but then Nix got hurt. And then Ione shot Nix. And then Nix died. And I wasn’t that sure anymore. I wanted to throw my phone all over the room. Not fair. But still, I hoped that he would somehow come back to life. Thankfully, he did. Thanks to Natalie. But I still hate her, anyway. That last hour of the audiobook was a real rollercoaster of feelings. But it was still great.

The character I really disliked, no matter how thankfull I am because of her existance at the same time, was Natalie. That little bitch. Yeah, I know she can’t help it because she’s a Null, but I really didn’t like her, despite the fact that she saved both Claire’s and Nix’ life. Just can’t like her, no matter how hard I try. Claire was such a relatable character, I could totally connect with her and understand her. I liked her from the beginning and I liked her until the end. She was not annoying not even a bit. The way she dealt with all these Nobody stuff was great and I felt really sorry for her when she realized that there is actually a real reason why her parents can’t remember her long enough and that they don’t love her and never will. However, my favourite character in the book, and the one I feel most sorry for, is Nix. All the things that happened to him were just terrible. He was brainwashed, basicly, since he was a child, and finding out that he was lied to all his life is just terrible. All the things he had to deal with during the whole book… I really admire him for handling  all of it that well. Okay, he had his breakdowns but it was totally understandable. I just wanted to hug him throughout the whole book. Fortunately, he had Claire who could understand him. Yeah, I ship those two so hard. I don’t think there was insta-love at all. Yes, they did kiss pretty early in the book, but they also weren’t together immediately. I don’t know if anyone remembers, but there were these two conditions if they wanted to work together. Yeah, they did fail later, but the conditions existed! Claire and Nix were so cute together and I did love the development of their relationship. My favourite moment was when Nix built Claire a bookshelf. He had my heart already, but with that act, he made sure he never leaves it.

2 thoughts on “Jennifer Lynn Barnes – Nobody | Review

  1. Pingback: LittleReadaThon #1 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: September 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

