Neil Gaiman – The Graveyard Book | Review

After the grisly murder of his entire family, a toddler wanders into a graveyard where the ghosts and other supernatural residents agree to raise him as one of their own.
Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family . . .
Beloved master storyteller Neil Gaiman returns with a luminous new novel for the audience that embraced his New York Times bestselling modern classic Coraline. Magical, terrifying, and filled with breathtaking adventures, The Graveyard Book is sure to enthrall readers of all ages.

★★★★★ 2213661

This book was fantastic! I was pleasantly surprised. I didn’t expect much of it since it’s basicly children’s book, but it turned out pretty amazing. I found myself really enjoying it and it didn’t really matter that the main character is still a child. I liked him anyway. I absolutely loved the atmosphere in this book. I can’t say it was scary because it wasn’t but it had that mysterious tone and a graveyard spirit. Very cool. Neil Gaiman is an amazing writer, I totally love his writing style, it’s very simple and interesting to read. But one thing was just sticking out. Illustrations. These were perfect and they really helped to make a mood in the book. Dave McKean did a great job. I liked the idea and the plot a lot, and the whole composition of the novel is very nice, how at the beginning Nobody is a baby and he’s growing up throughout the whole book. It was very nice to see him growing up and wanting different things. Character development was definitely on level. Other characters were also very interesting, but it was confusing as well because we had all these different creatures we knew nothing about, but all in all, I liked it. There was no much explaining in the book, just Bod’s journey and childhood, but we never found out how all of these paranormal elements actually worked. However, I’m aware it’s mainly children’s book and that kids wouldn’t find a lot of explanations very interesting to read. Still, I’m curious.

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

My favourite scene was definitely the last ‘battle’. It wasn’t actually a battle, but let’s say it was the last action scene. I absolutely loved it, I consider it the best part of the book. It was intense, interesting and fun to read because I kinda knew that this book has to end happily. It’s children’s book after all, right? The whole ending was actually pretty nice and I enjoyed it a lot. I liked how Bod didn’t actually kill anyone, all of them were only trapped. That was kind of apropriate and I liked it. Very original, as well. It was a nice message that killing your enemy is not the only solution. Also, I loved it that Bod and Scarlett didn’t ‘end up’ together. It would just ruin the end for me. I liked it much more the way it went, that Scarlett forgot about Bod and all that happened. Very good. But the last chapter was amazing. Very sad, I almost got teary eyed, though. But amazing. When Bod said goodbye to everyone on the graveyard and went to see the world. Wow. Perfect ending. I’m just so content with the way this book is put together and the way it ended. Very apropriate and different, I think.

I loved Bod. He was such a relatable character and definitely my favourite in the book. I’d love to live his life, only without that ‘there is a guy who killed your familiy and wants you dead as well’ part. I would like to skip that. I could connect with him easily, I understood him very well and I’m glad he got his happy ending. I didn’t like Scarlett very much. I don’t have some good reason for it, but I couldn’t make myself to like her. My second favourite character in this book was probably Silas. Oh God, how I liked him. He was the most interesting and the most mysterious character and I was dying to find out more about him. I could connect with him as well and I also felt sorry for him because he was not the part of any world, not dead nor alive. I also liked Miss Lupescu a lot, but I was surprised to find out that she’s a werewolf. But now when I look back at it, even her last name tells us her secret. Also, it’s not okay that she died. I knew that Mr. Frost was the bad guy. I just knew it. It was not convincing that he was that nice to Scarlett for no reason. Never trusted that guy and it turned out I was right about that. Bastard. But he got what he deserved. I can’t say I’m surprised. Another character I liked was Liza, the ghost witch Bod made friends with. I loved her and Bod’s friendship. Still, I found myself shipping them. Is that weird? I’m not sure.

As I already said, it bothered me a bit that we didn’t find out a lot of details about all different ‘creatures’ we meet in the book and we also never found out how it all works. For example, I can’t understand how can Bod see ghost on the graveyard and no one else can. I mean, he’s only human? But okay, let’s say he can see them because he’s been with them since he was a baby and he was allowed to live on the graveyard so that may be the reason. Still, I don’t understand how the hell is he able to do all these supernatural things like Dreamwalking and other cool stuff. Also, we never really found out what Silas actually is, or what he really does. Also, Miss Lupescu. How do werewolves fit into the whole thing? So many questions! Still, I decided that I don’t find that as a complaint because that may be a good thing as well. As I said, this is a children’s book and not everything has to have a valid reason to be. It’s all just imagination and imagination doesn’t need science or history to sound real, right?

One thought on “Neil Gaiman – The Graveyard Book | Review

  1. Pingback: September 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

