Pittacus Lore – I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies #1) | Review

In the beginning they were a group of nine. Nine aliens who left their home planet of Lorien when it fell under attack by the evil Mogadorian. Nine aliens who scattered on Earth. Nine aliens who look like ordinary teenagers living ordinary lives, but who have extraordinary, paranormal skills. Nine aliens who might be sitting next to you now. The Nine had to separate and go into hiding.
The Mogadorian caught Number One in Malaysia, Number Two in England, and Number Three in Kenya. All of them were killed. John Smith, of Paradise, Ohio, is Number Four. He knows that he is next.
I AM NUMBER FOUR is the thrilling launch of a series about an exceptional group of teens as they struggle to outrun their past, discover their future—and live a normal life on Earth.

★★★★★ 7747374

I went into this book not expecting much of it because a lot of people didn’t like this book. I also knew nothing about it when I started it, except these few sentences at the back. And that was good. I totally loved this book! It was so good, so much more than I ever imagined it to be. Just awesome. I enjoyed it so much and I don’t understand why people don’t like it. Writing style was good, it was easy to read and get into the plot, I loved the idea and the whole plot but some things may happen too fast. I could also very easily connect to the characters and I found myself really caring about all of them at the end. Damn it, the end. Hated that part. It was good, but you know, feels… This book was more than good. It was just amazing, I’m so glad I finally picked it up. And when I decided to borrow it from the library, I had no idea it was about aliens. I thought it was some dystopian/post apocalyptic ya book, mostly because of the cover (movie cover!), but I guess I was wrong. And I’m glad I was. When I mentioned the cover, I have to say it – I hate the movie cover. A lot. Original one is way better. Yeah, I know that on this book we have Alex Pettyfer on the cover, but the picture is not good and it’s just ugly (sorry Alex, it really hurt to say this, but I had to). I haven’t watched the movie yet and I’m kind of scared to do it because the people who liked the book hated the movie because apparently it was very different from the book. I only watched the trailer yesterday and I liked it, I like the cast a lot and it seemes okay, but we’ll see when I finally make up the courage to watch it (I’m so scared I’d be disappointed). All in all, this book was an amazing start to the series and I hope next books will only get better. I’m picking the second book up as soon as possible (this week, probably) because I can’t wait to see what happens next. Definitely recommend this book, these series are going to be epic!

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

There were some things in this book that bothered me, but not enough so it would affect my rating. Good things overweighed the bad ones. First, I really disliked the romance in this book. I have no idea why, though. I’m usually a sucker for romance, I want romance in every book and no matter how much of a cliche romance may be, I always enjoy it. What happened to me this time? No idea. I was just very annoyed with John’s relationship with Sarah. I liked it at the beginning, they were cute together and everything, but when they finally got together, it suddenly became unrealistic to me. Again, no idea why. Maybe it was too insta-love, they started telling each other ‘I love you’ too early and too easily. But let’s say that was all okay and that I still quite enjoyed it, but then came the part I really disliked and I definitely know why. Sarah accepted the whole alien thing too easily and too well. Not realistic at all. Yeah, I understand that Sam accepted from the beginning, he was into aliens already and that part was believable, but Sarah… Nope. She should’ve freak out, or get scared, or at least shocked. But no, she acted like he was just from the different country. Damn it, he’s a freaking alien! You should’ve been at least a bit surprised. That bugged me so much! Okay, she got a bit scared when Mogadorians attacked, but still, not enough to be believable. However, I went over that because the rest of the book was awesome.

I really liked John, or whatever his real name is. I’m going to go with John. He was an amazing character, I liked reading from his POV, I easily connected with him and could totally understand him. Also, his Legacies were very cool and I can’t wait to see the other ones. I also really liked his desire to settle down for once, to have friends, real ones, the ones that would accept him the way he is and ones he would never have to leave behind. It was also very nice to see his character development, he grew from a child to a young man throughout this book and it was very well presented to us. Yeah, he’s on a good way to end up on my Fictional Boyfriends list. As I already said, I didn’t like Sarah. We didn’t get to know her character very well and I have the feeling she was in this book only as a love interest and that is not okay. Her character has so much potential and I hope we will get to see some badass Sarah in next books. I really liked Sam. He was that sidekick character who everyone loves. He was nerdy, but also a very good friend. I bet he was right with his theory that aliens took his father. Also, I hope we will get to see some kicking aliens’ asses from him. I just love Sam! One of my favourite characters in this book was definitely Herni. He was an awesome father figure to John, he was supportive and understanding, but also protective and badass. It’s so not freaking fair that he died at the end!!! Yeah, I thought that may happen, but that doesn’t mean I like it or want to accept it. NOT FAIR! I also really liked Bernie Kosar. I just knew it he was an alien dog. There was a lot of references to it and it was kind of obvious, but I still wasn’t sure until it was confirmed. I also thought he was going to die, but I’m glad he didn’t. It would be too much. Mark. I hated him at the beginning, he was such an asshole, but in the second part of the book he drasticly changed and I realized that I like him. I loved his character development, even though it was maybe a bit too fast. Six was basass as well and I hope we will get to know her better in second book. She is awesome!

In my opinion this book was too easy. Okay, that sounds wrong. What I mean is that all these problems characters faced throughout the book were solved quite easy and without much complications. Especially the part when Henri was missing. However, the final battle changed my opinion on that. There were hell of a lot of complications! That final scene was so action-packed and awesome. I had no idea what to expect and I was aware that everyone can die. So intense and thrilling. Definitely the best part of the book (if you forget about the fact that Henri died)!

Related:
Pittacus Lore – The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies #2)
I Am Number Four – Movie

3 thoughts on “Pittacus Lore – I Am Number Four (Lorien Legacies #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: Pittacus Lore – The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies #2) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: September 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  3. Pingback: I Am Number Four | Book to Movie Adaptation | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

