Kass Morgan – Day 21 (The Hundred #2) | Review

No one has set foot on Earth in centuries — until now.
It’s been 21 days since the hundred landed on Earth. They’re the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries…or so they thought. Facing an unknown enemy, Wells attempts to keep the group together. Clarke strikes out for Mount Weather, in search of other Colonists, while Bellamy is determined to rescue his sister, no matter the cost. And back on the ship, Glass faces an unthinkable choice between the love of her life and life itself.
In this pulse-pounding sequel to Kass Morgan’s The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can — together.

★★★★★ 20454076

I’ve been waiting for this book to come out since I read the first book and now I finally read it. I still can’t believe it. This book! This book was awesome and I love it so much! Probably even more that the first one. I read in one weekend, once I started it, I couldn’t put it down. I got it only two days after it came out and I started reading it two days after that. Also, it’s kind of cool that I finished it on September 21st because the book is called Day 21. Get it?
This book was action-packed from the beginning to the end, very easy to read and very addictive. I love the writing style and ALMOST all the plot twists. Also, there was much more romance in this book than in the first book, but I didn’t mind at all because it was done very well and I have three ships in this book now. Great. I can’t really think of any complaint to this book because there was none and I enjoyed readin it from first to last page. Characters were really loveable and I could easily connect to all of them, the plot was pretty realistic, and the whole idea for the book is very unique and awesome. I have no idea if there is going to be a third book, but I assume there will be because we still have some unanswered questions and it would suck if this is the end. So, I’m hoping the next book will come out soon. I’m going to die while waiting for it, but I don’t care. I’m ready to suffer! BUT, the second seadon of the tv show is coming out in October so that’s good, right?
So, I definitely recommend this series to you. These books are so good! READ THEM! But prepare for the rollercoaster of feelings.

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

Okay, so I already said how much I love the idea and the setting, but I have to repeat it one more time. I especially liked how realistic the relationships between the hundred were, how some people trusted Sasha, and some didn’t. Also, there was a lot of fighting, but they still managed to stick together because that was the only way to survive. So good! And since I’m talking about relationships, I have to mention my ships. First, Bellarke. Damn it, I love them so much. When Bellamy was angry with Clarke for killing Lilly, I was destroyed. I absolutely hated that part. Also, not long after that, my other ship sank as well, Luke found out that Glass was responsible for his best friend’s death. That was not a good thing to do! Thankfully, both of my ships got back together soon and I was happy again. I also found myself shipping Wells and Sasha. They were really cute together and I liked how they understood eachother.As you can see, there was a lot of fangirling in this book.

I really liked Clarke. She’s an awesome, strong female character with her own demons and ghosts from the past, but she still manages to move on. I like her very much, that’s all I’m going to say. I didn’t like Wells very much in the first book, but now I kind of like him. He’s okay and I don’t have some real reason why I don’t like him, but he didn’t affect me much. My favourite character is probably pretty obvious – Bellamy. Damn it, I love him so much. He’s just perfect – badass, cocky and charming when he feels like it, mood, protective, he would do everything for the people he loves… do I have to continue? I thought so. I just love him so much, and I like the scenes where he was shirtless even more. I was fangirling every time it happened. I also really liked Sasha, she was an interesting character. It intrigued me how she was willing to help the hundred even though they kept her as a prisoner, but that just shows how awesome person she is. Totally loved her! Graham is still an idiot and I hate him very much. I still like Glass a lot, I think she’s an awesome character and it was very interesting to see her dealing with all these bad stuff happening on the ship. Luke was still amazing but I have the feeling that we didn’t get to meet him very well, or at least not as much as we did the other characters. Camille is a bitch, hate her!

Can we talk about all the new stuff we found out for a bit?
First, we finally found out about Bellamy’s secret girlfriend from the past and I was totally shocked when we found out it was Lilly, the girl Clarke killed to ease her pain. Woah! Didn’t see that coming. I understand Bellamy’s reaction when he found out that his girlfriend kind of killed his ex-girlfriend. That’s kind of crazy. Still, that doesn’t mean I liked that he was angry with Clarke. Another shocking thing was that Bellamy and Wells are half brothers. Wow. I would never guess that. Also, Clarke parents were alive? Of course they are, that was kind of too much, maybe. That is probably the only thing I didn’t like, but I’m okay with it.

My favourite scene in the while book was probably the one when Glass went outside of the ship so she can get on Phoenix and open the skybridge. My heart stopped when she missed that handle and just floated in space with no one to help her. That was probably the most intense part in the whole book. I also loved all the Bellarke scenes, I don’t think I have to specially say that. But I did anyway. The last chapter was pretty amazing as well, but the finishing sentence just blew me away.

As I already said, I really like Kass Morgan’s writing style. I loved how these parts from the past were inserted in the story and they seemed irrelevant but later it turned out to be really important. That was just awesome! Also, it was interesting how we had a gay couple mentioned casualy, but they weren’t important. Still, I really like when there are gay characters in books, even whan that doesn’t affect the story at all. I just thought it was cool.  I really liked that we got a lot of answers in this book, but we also got some new questiones that are still waiting to be answered. I need the third book!

Related:
Kass Morgan – The 100 (The Hundred #1)

2 thoughts on “Kass Morgan – Day 21 (The Hundred #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: Kass Morgan – The 100 (The Hundred #1) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: September 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

