Pittacus Lore – The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies #2) | Review

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.
Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?
They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.
I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

★★★★★  8659601

The Power of Six was so much better than the first book! So much better! There was more action, more characters, more plot, more everything. Also, we already knew the world so there weren’t many axplanations that would slow down the whole plot. There was action from the beginning and I totally loved that. It was intense, thrilling and very fun to read. I found myself really attached to all of the characters but I was kind of prepared that something bad would happen to at least one of them. Still, the ending surprised me, a lot! I especially liked the writing style, even though some people say it’s not good. Well, I don’t agree. I really enjoyed reading this book probably just because of the writing style. There weren’t any unnecessary descriptions, in action scenes things were happening fast and I had a feeling like I’m there as well, which is awesome! This book was a very quick and fun read and I would probably read it even faster if it weren’t for schoolwork. I definitely recommend this book to you if you read I Am Number Four, and if you haven’t read that book yet, go for it! This series is so good! I totally love the world and the characters.

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

Where to even start? This book was so action-packed and intense, there was no boring parts at all. But my favourite part is probably the last 50 pages or so. Basicly from the moment when John was caught and also when Marina opened the Chest. From there things started to happen really fast and I couldn’t stop turning pages. It was so intense and I was at the edge of my seat. Also, I was aware that someone’s going to die. I was right. Unfortunately. Why did Hector have to die? Not fair, it was so unfair. I don’t mind that Adelina died, even though she finally realised how stupid she was. Still, I don’t care about her. But why Hector? I noticed that author is killing all of Garde’s parental figures. Get original!
Can we also tlak about how much of a bitch Sarah Hart is? How could she do that to John? Betray him like that! Not cool. I didn’t like her in the first book but I tolerated her. Now I hate the bitch. I didn’t trust her anyway.
Another twist that I absolutely hate is that Sam was stuck at Mogadorian cave. How could they just leave him there? And the only thing John worries about is that the adress Six gave them was in Sam’s pocket and now he lost it? Again, not cool. But I have a feeling that Sam is now going to find his father and that they will somehow escape, since both of them are pretty badass.
Another thing I have to mention is Henri’s letter to John. Damn it, all the feels. I loved the letter, but it’s the last of Henri we get, and I hate that. I really liked that guy and I still hate the fact that he’s dead.

I liked John, but I can’t really say I loved him. Sometimes he acted so stupidly, I just wanted to slap him. I realised that I love him in action-packed, battle scenes, but find him really annoying in love scenes. Seriously, get over Sarah. He was whining throughout the whole book, then when they came back to Paradise he went to see her and look where it got him. Idiot. And even after Sarah betrayed him, he was still not over her. Also, even though he realises that he has feelings for Six, he denies it because of Sarah. Seriously?! Six is so much better than Sarah!
Sam is probably my favourite character in this book. He is an awesome side kick character and I could totally connect with him. I like the moments when he turns really badass, but he’s also really cute when he gets excited about all these alien stuff. Not cool that he stayed in that cave!
I loved Six a lot. She is so badass and she’s a really strong female character. She doesn’t need anyone and she is the one who protected the guys throughout the whole book. And when she went to Spain, they got in trouble. Actually, whenever she leaves the, they get in trouble and she has to save them. But I love her so much, probably my second favourite character.
Marina was okay, but I still haven’t decided how I feel about her. I’m going to go with just okay. I felt sorry for her because of how Adelina bahaved, it was not okay at all. But I’m glad he tried to figure all these alien stuff on her own because it would totally suck if she’d agree with Adelina and acted the way Adelina did. I especailly liked Marina’s relationship with Ella. Ella was so cute and just adorable. Very lovable character. Also, I immediately knew it that she’s from the second ship, that she was the baby, but I’d never guess she had these awesome powers. I was already talking about how Adelina irritates me. I just wanted to slap her throughout the whole book and I’m kind of relieved that she died because now Marina can live the life she is destined for.
Also, Nine. I don’t like him. I may change my opinion in next book, but for now I find him really irritating. Hopefully that would change, especially if we get his POV in the next book.

This book isn’t perfect, there were few things I mentioned that bothered me, especially romance, but all in all this book was a fun, thrilling read and I love it the way it is. There were some pretty good description parts, especailly the one when John says how much he misses Henri and how he blames himself for his death. That was so heartbreaking. To wrap it up, this book was much better than the first book and I heard that the series become only better with each book so I’m looking forward to The Rise of Nine.

Related:
Pittacus Lore – I Am Number Four (Lorien Logacies #1)
I Am Number Four – Movie

2 thoughts on “Pittacus Lore – The Power of Six (Lorien Legacies #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: September 2014 | Wrap up | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: I Am Number Four | Book to Movie Adaptation | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

