Amanda Hocking – Switched (Trylle #1) | Review

What if your entire world was built on a lie?
Wendy Everly knew she was different the day her mother tried to kill her and accused her of having been switched at birth. Although certain she’s not the monster her mother claims she is – she does feel that she doesn’t quite fit in…
She’s bored and frustrated by her small town life – and then there’s the secret that she can’t tell anyone. Her mysterious ability – she can influence people’s decisions, without knowing how, or why…
When the intense and darkly handsome newcomer Finn suddenly turns up at her bedroom window one night – her world is turned upside down. He holds the key to her past, the answers to her strange powers and is the doorway to a place she never imagined could exist. Förening, the home of the Trylle.
Finally everything makes sense. Among the Trylle, Wendy is not just different, but special. But what marks her out as chosen for greatness in this world also places her in grave danger. With everything around her changing, Finn is the only person she can trust. But dark forces are conspiring – not only to separate them, but to see the downfall everything that Wendy cares about.
The fate of Förening rests in Wendy’s hands, and the decisions she and Finn make could change all their lives forever…

★★★★☆ 12133821

I read this book for the second time now and even though I was planning to reread it eventually, I didn’t expect it to happen so soon. However, there is this Trylle Re-read happening on Goodreads and I decided to join. It was the push I needed to finally reread the book and then continue with the trilogy. I enjoyed this book a lot, but I was also a bit disappointed. Why? I remember loving this book when I first read it and I gave it 5 out of 5 stars so I expected it to be really good, but now when I went back into it, I realized it’s not really something special. Yeah, the book is fun, I enjoyed reading it and I got really invested in the story, but I found myself paying more attention to the writing style now and it actually disappointed me. Writing style was okay, but I realized there was a lot of unnecessary descriptions and every important scene was rushed. It’s the exact same way I wrote beck then while I was still writing and I hated it and I constantly wanted to improve it. Also, I found a lot of cliches in this book, and even though I enjoyed them, they really bothered me and I wanted to scream. While I was reading, I was surprised how much of the plot I actually forgot, but what surprised me the most was the ending because I was so not remembering it, at all. I sat there for a moment when I finished the book, confused, because it felt like I just finished this book for the fisrt time. I don’t remember that last chapter at all and I was shocked. How is that possible? Was I in denial? It’s possible.
All in all, this book was a very fun read and I really enjoyed it, I would definitely recommend this book to you if you’re new to young adult genre and reading in general, but even if you read tons of YA books (like me), I believe you can still enjoy this book if you go into it not expecting it to be spectacular and something unlike anything you’ve ever read.

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

I already mentioned that all the important scenes were rushed. I hated it. Especially the part at the end when Vittras attacked and everything was done in a second. Like, Vittras came, there was panic, Finn appeared and saved Wendy, Finn killed Jen and every single Vittra just disappeared? Yeah, some fight was mentioned, but we got no details on that. We only got to see Finn fighting Jen and when that was over, we just got the information that few Trylles were killed and that everything is fine. This all happened in about 15-20 pages what is definitely not enough for the main point of the story! Damn, it really frustrated me. But I guess it’s more important to describe how Wendy chose what to wear, how she was getting ready in the morning and how perfect Finn is. This is not how you write a book! However, I decided to go over all of that because the plot and the setting were interesting. I liked the whole queen, kingdom, princess stuff, it was really interesting to read about all that, but also really frustrating. I wouldn’t survive as Elora’s daughter even for a day. If I was Wendy, I would run away the second Elora turned out to be a total bitch. What I probably liked the most about this book is the fact that Amanda Hocking took well known, but not very popular creatures and turned them into something completely new. I would never expect trolls to be that cool.I loved the idea of their society and the way they lived, it was all done very well and I liked that there was actually a good reason why Finn and Wendy can’t be together. It made sense, but that still doesn’t mean I like it.
I’d also like to mention my favourite scene in the whole book, and no, it’s not Finn/Wendy kissing scene. It’s Rhys cooking scene. It was hilarious and the way Finn was teasing Rhys about his cooking made me laugh so hard. Definitely the highlight of this book. Okay, I admit, I loved all Wendy/Finn scenes, especially kissing ones. I have no excuse, I’m a sucker for any kind of romance.

I didn’t like Wendy very much. I didn’t hate her, but I didn’t love her either. Actually, I didn’t really connect with her and I don’t have any special feelings for her. But what I liked about her is the fact that she was actually thinking about leaving her home and going to Forening instead just running of the same second she found out she was different. She was actually sad for leaving her family behind and she felt guilty about it. Not a lot of YA heroines do that. Also, I respected her a bit more when she finally stood up for herself in front of Elora when she didn’t want to change her name. But that was all.
I have mixed feelings about Finn. Yeah, I do love him, but I think his character was not developed enough. Also, why was he such a douche sometimes? It was totally for no reason, it was always suddenly and it didn’t make any sense. Another thing, there was actually nothing special about him, nothing unique, which was disappointment as well.
I really liked Rhys, but he was so friendzoned, I really felt bad for him. He was so funny and nice, I could totally connect with him and understand him, but I also felt really sorry for him because of all that shit that happened to him (you know, being stolen from your family and being ‘adopted’ by the person who hates you is not very pleasant) and then also Wendy friendzoning him… poor guy, he’s so nice, but no one is actually nice to him. Not cool.
I hated Elora. So much. She’s just a bitch and she has no excuse. I hated her the first time I read this book and I hate her now as well. She was so cold, cruel and just unbearable. I really wanted to slap her. Okay, she was powerful and I respected her at the end when she was smart enough to use her power to defend herself, but that was all. I still hate her. Also, I loved descriptions of her and her power, these are so amazing.
I don’t know how I feel about Willa. I liked her because she wanted to help Wendy to fit in and do all these ceremonies right, but I didn’t like her at the same time because of how she treated Rhys, Rhiannon and Finn, like they are less. That was not okay.
I left the best for the end. Tove. I freaking loved him! I believe he’s my favourite character in the book and I think he’s amazing. Also, he reminded me of Adrian Ivashkov from Vampire Academy a bit. Damn it, I love that guy! When I just started this book for the second time and he first showed up, I didn’t even remember that I liked him before. But then, the more I read, the more I was remembering and he really got under my skin, especailly when we found out his story and his powers. So awesome! Tove is my bae.

I have to say one thing. I didn’t really like the romance in this book. Okay, yes, I do ship Finn and Wendy, but their romance was so cheesy and all these scenes were just unoriginal. I still enjoyed reading those scenes, but I’d like it much more and I’d fangirl much more if there was at least one special, new, original scene. Also, it was pretty unbelievable that Wendy admitted loving Finn in 6th chapter already. That was so insta love. But I did like that they didn’t even kiss until the very end of the book, it helped to improve overall impression for a bit. But just a bit.

What else can I say? This book irritated me but also made me entertained at the same time. I did like it, but I didn’t love it, or at least not as much as I expected. As I already mentioned, some aspects of it reminded me a bit of Vampire Academy, but that was not a bad thing. I loved the royalty as a theme in young adult and if I ever find out that I’m a princess, I’ll definitely remember what I learned from this book – run away and do what you want because these people need you, and not the other way, but before you run away, wait for a while and take all the bullshit they serve you and let them ruin your life. Just kidding, I’ll never become a princess.

One thought on “Amanda Hocking – Switched (Trylle #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: Amanda Hocking – Torn (Trylle #2) | Review | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

