Amanda Hocking – Torn (Trylle #2) | Review

When Wendy Everly first discovers the truth about herself—that she’s a changeling switched at birth—she knows her life will never be the same. Now she’s about to learn that there’s more to the story…
She shares a closer connection to her Vittra rivals than she ever imagined—and they’ll stop at nothing to lure her to their side. With the threat of war looming, her only hope of saving the Trylle is to master her magical powers—and marry an equally powerful royal. But that means walking away from Finn, her handsome bodyguard who’s strictly off limits…and Loki, a Vittra prince with whom she shares a growing attraction.
Torn between her heart and her people, between love and duty, Wendy must decide her fate. If she makes the wrong choice, she could lose everything, and everybody, she’s ever wanted…in both worlds.

★★★★☆ 9716824

I read Torn for The Offical Trylle Re-read Readalong that was happening on Goodreads, but for me, it was the first time to read this book.

I liked this book a bit better than the first one in the trilogy, but it still had its flaws and it wasn’t perfect. However, Torn was a fun and entertaining read and I definitely enjoyed it. The plot was much more exciting than in the first book and we also met some new awesome characters. My view on some characters changed drasticaly in this book, and I’m really glad because of it (mostly). The writing style still bothers me a little, it’s a bit amateur in my opinion, but I learned to ignore it and just enjoy the story. There were a lot of exciting plot twists and we learned a lot more about some characters’ past which was great. I’m really looking forward to read the third book and finish the series, even though I’m spoiled about the ending a little, but I don’t really care. If you read Switched, I would definitely recommend continuing on with the trilogy because it really gets better. If you haven’t started the Trylle trilogy yet, you definitely should!

SPOILER PART – if you haven’t read the book yet, I recommend not to read any further, go and read the book and then come back.

I’m going to start with the things that bothered me. First, I just did not like the writing style, just like I said before. Maybe it’s because of translation (it is definitely a possibility), but it just bothered me a lot. It was immature and it reminded me a lot of my writing style when I was younger. Also, there were some unnecessary descriptions (for example: I don’t care about every single activity Wendy did after she woke up). While writing, author should know which actions are actualy important for the plot, and which ones are not.

Wendy was also pretty annoying as a character. She was so indecisive that it became unbearable. Just make the damn decision and be brave enough to deal with the consequences! She was supposed to be portrayed as a rebel, but I didn’t feel like she was actually doing something rebellious. The only time she was an actual rebel was when she wanted to save Loki, but even then, other people were helping her. Sorry Wendy, but I don’t like you very much.
I really liked Finn in Switched, but that completely changed in Torn. He was an absolute douche to Wendy all the time and he was such a coward because he did nothing to fight for Wendy. I’m glad that Wendy finally realized that and got over him. He really doesn’t deserve a girl if he’s going to act like the victim all the time and do nothing to change the situation. Finn was just a total disappointment in this book.
However, I found my new love interest and I don’t think I’m going to be disappointed this time. Loki is love. He’s amazing, dark, different, enemy… all I want in a male fictional character. I’ve loved him since the moment he showed up the first time and I still love him. He’s a complete opposite to Finn and he’s perfect for Wendy. I just love him.
I changed my opinion on Elora a lot now that I found out her story. I respect her a lot now and she’s such a strong female character. Just wow. I didn’t see that coming. She went through so much when she was only 18-20 and she sacrificed so much just so Wendy can be safe and be the queen one day.
Tove is still one of my favourite characters and I loved him even more in this book. I was a bit surprised that he’s gay, because that never occured me, but I’m completely okay with that. I love him the same.
Duncan was an amazing character who I really liked. It was not okay that others looked down on him because he’s seriously awesome. I loved it when he said that it doesn’t bother him that everyone looks down on him because he can surprise them because of that. Amazing!

Relationships between characters changed drastically in this book, but what probably surprised me the most was Willa’s behaviour. I would never guess that she will fall for a human. Yeah, when she started acting differently around Matt, I knew they’re going to get together, and of course I was right. But it’s still surprising.
I also like that Wendy finally got over Finn and found another love interest. Although I’m a bit scared how is it all going to end it the third book (okay, I know who is she going to end up with), since she is supposed to marry Tove and the thing I’m afraid of is that Tove is going to die and by that Wendy would be free to choose who to marry. And that would suck because Tove mustn’t die. (This is all just my theory, and that will hopefully never happen.)
What also surprised me, and in my opinion was the biggest plot twist in the series, was the fact that Vittra king was Wendy’s father. Whoa, I did not see that coming. Not at all. But it’s pretty cool, and Oren is really a badass. I actually kind of like him. Not much, but kind of. He’s cool.

I also missed Rhys and Rhianonn in this book, a lot. Yeah, Rhys was there at the beginning, but since they got back to Forening, he was completely forgotten, just like Rhianonn. That was not okay, because they are amazing characters as well.

I hope to read the last book in the trilogy as soon as possible because I’m curious to find out how is it all going to wrap up at the end. Also, I want more Loki because Loki is everything!

Related:
Amanda Hocking – Switched (Trylle #1)

Leave a Reply

