John Green – Paper Towns | Review

Who is the real Margo?
Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…

★★★★☆ 6442769

I have to admit, the idea of this book is not very appealing to me, but since it’s John Green‘s book, I had to pick it up and I didn’t regret it. It was very interesting to see how much Q cared for Margo. At first you’d think it was just a regular teenage crush, but as the book goes on we actually see that his love is real. Though I expected this book is another contemoprary romance between two young people, this book was so much more than that. I wouldn’t even say it’s a romance book, it’s more like  a mystery book with elements of romance which I definitely liked.

The beginning of this book was fantastic and I expected it to be another great read, but then I came to the middle of the book and I just got bored. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but it was just much worse than the beginning. After a long struggle with this book, I finally got to the interesting part again and then I just flew through the rest of the book. It feels like John Green knew the beginning and the ending, but didn’t know what to do with the middle. But the plot itself, if I look in total, was really interesting and sometimes very fun. I loved the mystery a lot and I was constantly trying to figure out Margo and her reasons to leave, but I just couldn’t. I have mixed feelings about all these descriptions of teenagers’ life, though. I just didn’t like it. All those parties, and prom, and school drama… sometimes I find those interesting, but sometimes (like in this book) there are so many cliches and everything is so stereotypic that I just want to scream. It could’ve been done with much more originality!

I already said how much I like Q and it’s mostly because he proved how much he cares for Margo. He was maybe a bit naive at the beginning of the book when she basically used him just because she needed a car and a ‘partner in crime’, but that definitely changed later. I really liked his determination to find Margo, but it was also nice to see how Ben and Radar were trying to help him even though they didn’t fully understand him. I wish I had friends who are that supportive. I found Radar to be a vary interesting character, if not the best done character in the book. I have mixed feelings about Ben, though. At first I didn’t like him at all, but at the end my opinion completely changed and I started to like him, but I still have some issues with his character, and the main problem is that his character was such a cliche and I just didn’t buy it. However, he also made ma laugh a lot so I decided to go over the fact he’s built on a stereotype. Another thing I didn’t buy was Margo Roth Spiegelman. I didn’t find her very mysterious or particulary interesting. She was just annoying and selfish, and that was proven at the end. Yeah, I can understand what Q saw in her, but I just couldn’t make myself to love her. Sorry, Margo.

When I already mentioned Margo Roth Spiegelman, John Green did it again. He really likes using full names for his main female characters and I find it so cool. I believe he does that in his every book. I love John Green‘s writing style in general because he manages to say so much with a few simple words and that’s just art. He’s definitely one of my favourite authors and I think that is never going to change. This was far from his best book out there, but it was definitely not a bad one. I just think it could’ve been done a bit better, that’s all.

After a few months of reading this book (yes, it took me A FEW months to finish this book), I am finally done and I’m actually surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this book. It was a fun and entertaining read and I’d definitely recommend it, but be aware that John Green can do so much better than this.

There is also going to be a movie based on this book and I’m super excited! It should come out on June 5th 2015.

Leave a Reply

