2014 | A Year in a Review

The year of 2014 was an amazing reading year for me. A lot of important and exciting stuff happened and I think I also changed a lot in 2014. I have no idea where to even start from.

First, and probably the most important thing is that I started this blog in February 2014. I had blogs where I wrote about books before, but I’ve never put so much time and effort in them like I did in this one. Also, i always gave up very quickly, but this blog is alive for almost a year now and I have no intention to give up on it.
This summer I discovered BookTube as well, which changed my reading and attutude to books drastically. I’ve always loved to read, but since I started watching all those videos and listening to the BookTubers talking about their love for book, I realized how much I actually love books and how amazing they are. Discovery of BookTube was a huge turn in my life and lately I’m seriously considering joining BookTube myself.
One thing I’m really proud of is the fact that I made one of my best friends to read and now he’s reading a lot, just because of my influence. This is probably my biggest accomplishment of the year, because I showed someone how wonderful books are and someone now enjoys reading only because of me. Isn’t that great?
This year in November, I visited Interliber, this event simmilar to Book Expo or something like that, the biggest book event in Croatia. I had a great time, I bought some book for a great price and I also had so much fun with my friends. I can’t wait to go again next year!
In 2014 I bought my 100th book and now I own 106 books, which is amazing. Only this year I got 31 new books, and that number just shocked me because I didn’t expect that I bought so many books in one year since I never have enough money and no one ever buys me books. I know, that sucks.

Top 14 books of 2014:
*if I read more than one book in the same series, I’ll choose only one book (which I liked the most) of those I read and in brackets are going to be all the other books from the same series I read in 2014
*you can find reviews for every book on this list if you type the title or author’s name in the search bar on the right
*these are not in any particular order, I wrote them down in order how they popped up in my head
1. Invisible (also: Intangible and Invincible) by DelSheree Gladden
2. City of Heavenly Fire (also: City of Lost Souls) by Cassandra Clare
3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
4. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children (Also: Hollow City) by Ransom Riggs
5. Half Bad by Sally Green
6. Delirium (also: Pandemonium and Requiem) by Lauren Oliver
7. Boundless (also: Hallowed) by Cynthia Hand
8. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
9. The Sea of Monsters (also: The Lightning Thief) by Rick Riordan
10. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
11. Nobody by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
12. Vicious by V. E. Schwab
13. We Were Liars by E. Lockheart
14. I Don’t Want to Kill You (also: Mr. Monster) by Dan Wells

All in all, this was a fantastic year and I wish 2015 is going to be even better. I am what I am today because of all those amazing books I read, and I just want to thank to the whole book community (book blogers, BookTubers, authors, writers, publishers, translators and READERS) out there for being awesome people! Book people are the best people, never forget that!

Leave a Reply

