Maggie Stiefvater – Shiver (Wolves of Mercy Falls #1) | Review

For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.
Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.
Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

★★★★★ 6068551

There is something I need to get off of my chest before I get to the actual review. I read this book four years ago for the first time and now I decided it was time for me to reread it. Best decision ever! I went into this book expecting to fly through it because I was reading it for the second time, but I realized that I remember pretty much nothing. I was so shocked with that fact, but also happy because while reading this book again it felt like I was getting to know the characters for the fisrt time. I didn’t remember almost anything about the plot so I got very excited and anxious at times. So, the conclusion is: my memory sucks, but that’s okay.

I love werewolves, and that is mainly because of this book. Wolves are definitely my favourite animals, and a mix of wolf and a hot guy is my favourite combination. When I first read this book, a long time ago, I loved it so much, but in the past few months I’ve been reading and watching some not very good reviews on this book and the complete trilogy, so I was a bit afraid to reread this book because I though I would look differently on it this time. Oh, how wrong I was. I loved it the second time around, probably even more than the first time. It’s fantastic and I enjoyed every second I spent reading it.

At the beginning it all started a bit slow because of all these explanations and ”world building”, but I didn’t mind at all. But when things started to happen, I was at the edge of my seat. I kept flipping these pages and I just needed to know what happens next (even though it was a reread) which resulted with me staying up a bit too long and almost not waking up for school on time the next morning, but I regret NOTHING. The ending was maybe a bit rushed, but I didn’t find that to be a bad thing. Also, semi-cliffhanger at the end is fantastic, beautiful and just the best. I need Linger now!
Also, I have to mention my favourite scene in this book because it was probably the best written romance scene ever. When Sam took Grace to the pastry shop. So amazing, beautiful and just perfectly written. This book is worth reading, if not for anything else, then at least for this scene. I can’t even describe it with words. It’s art, what else can I say?

I have mixed feeling about pretty much all of the characters, which is good, because that makes them realistic. None of them was perfect of terrible and I connected to pretty much every single one of them, which is very rare.
I have to start with Sam. I love him, I really do, but sometimes he was a bit of a drama queen. But just sometimes, and I managed to get over that. In all other times he was amazing and unique and just bae. I also like his lyrics and his artistic side, it’s really beautiful.
I could relate to Grace a lot and I realized how much the two of us are alike. Almost everything she did, all the actions she took… I would do the exact same thing if I was her and that kinda amazed me. I never found a main character so simmilar to me. I guess that’s why I liked her, haha.
Shelby was portrayed as an ‘evil’ character, but I could actually relate to her a bit. I could understand her and I saw why she did all of the stuff she did. She loves what she is and she just fights for what she things is right. No one can blame her for that.
Some people think Beck is selfish, but I don’t think that. He also just did what he thought was right and what he thought was best for the pack. You can’t call that selfish.
Grace’s parents are the one who are truly selfish and I didn’t like them at all. Enough said, they are just terrible people.
I love girls like Isabel. She was so badass, even though she was not portrayed that way at the beginning. My opinion on her only grew toward the end of the book, but when she helped Sam, I knew I love her and that that won’t change. She cares about all of them much more than she’s ready to admit and that’s why I like her even more.

The writing style was beautiful. Maggie Stiefvater is well-known for her unigue and amazing style, and that is definitely not without a reason. Metaphores and descriptions were so well done, and sometimes I just wanted to read the same sentence for a few times, because of how beautiful it was. The romance was done very well and it was not rushed at all, which made it believeable and realistic. Some people say this trilogy is too melancholic, but I don’t agree at all. The best word to describe this book is beautiful. I’m definitely looking forward to reading something else by this author because I’m in love with her writing style.

To wrap it all up, I’m so glad I read Shiver again and I would definitely recommend it to everyone. It’s a great book for a winter period to just curl up near the fireplace with a cup of hot chocolate. Perfection.

Leave a Reply

