Maggie Stiefvater – Linger (Wolves of Mercy Falls #2) | Review

the longing.
Once Grace and Sam have found each other, they know they must fight to stay together. For Sam, this means a reckoning with his werewolf past. For Grace, it means facing a future that is less and less certain.
the loss.
Into their world comes a new wolf named Cole, whose past is full of hurt and danger. He is wrestling with his own demons, embracing the life of a wolf while denying the ties of being a human.
the linger.
For Grace, Sam, and Cole, life a constant struggle between two forces–wolf and human–with love baring its two sides as well. It is harrowing and euphoric, freeing and entrapping, enticing and alarming. As their world falls apart, love is what lingers. But will it be enough?

★★★★★ 6654313

Linger was even better than Shiver if that’s even possible. I loved Shiver, but this book was just more. More of everything. It was more interesting, characters were more complex, plot was more complicated and exciting, writing style was more compelling and more beautiful. This book blew me away with how amazing it is. If you read Shiver and you’re now sure if you should continue with the trilogy or not, I definitely recommend picking this one up because I assure you that you won’t regret it.

Shiver was focused mostly on romance between Sam and Grace, but in this one plot becomes so much more than a romance between the two main characters. We deal with family issues, werewolf problems, we find out a lot about some characters’ past and there is just a lot of emotions wrapped up nicely into a complete beautiful book. It was still a lot of drama, but considerably less than in the first book. Sam and Grace still had their cute, and sometimes very emotional moments, but we got the foundations for a more complex plot which is going to unfold in the final book in the trilogy. There was one aspect of a book that I feel like I need to mention as well. The pack. How it was described, and how Sam feels about the pack, makes me feel so nice but sad at the same time. It was just beautiful, and it makes me want to be a part of a pack as well. It is more than family. Sam’s family and Grace’s family was very nicely opposed, in this book especially, and it was very interesting to see how different surroundings affected them to become the persons they are now.

I loved the characters so much. Every single character in this book went through a huge character development and it was just nice to see all these characters I care about grow up because of all the stuff they were dealing with.
Isabel went through the biggest development out of all of them. At the beginning of the fist book I didn’t like her very much, but even through Shiver she started to change. But in Linger, she’s a completely different person and now she’s my second favourite character. She is such a badass and her character is very interesting to read about, especially when we read from her POV. I love being inside her head and seeing her trying to stay strong and just survive everything that’s happening to her. But the thing I probably like the most about her is the fact that she considers herself one of the wolves, even though she can just walk away any time, since she’s just a human who only accidently knows about the whole werewolf thing. But she decides to stay and help her friends and I respect her for that.
However, my favourite character is definitely Cole. His character is so complex and unique, it just blew my mind. At the beginning he only seemed like an arrogant celebrity, but when we started to get to know him, it became clear he’s so much more than that. His story is just fascinating to me. I can’t find a better word for it. He’s a famous singer, but he’s a genious as well, which I think is going to play a huge role in Forever. At first he let his demons from the past to control him, but toward the end of the book he decided to take that control and that’s when I started to love him even more. Also, I ship him with everyone.
Sam felt like a background character to me in this book. All of a sudden, he’s not the important one anymore. He is now a human and he obviously has some big problems, but I just didn’t feel like he was the one who could solve them. He was somehow boring, actually, now when the focus was not on him anymore. Still, I can’t say anything bad about him, because I still like him very much. I just think he should stand out for what he wants and what he believes in, and not feel sorry for himself all the time and expect that Grace would fix everything.
And now, Grace. She became stronger and more determined and I loved her a lot because of that. She was not afraid to defend her love and what she believed in in front of her parents, or anyone. She stayed strong and a fighter even when she knew things were bad and that there was no way that she could make it right. She and Sam basically switched roles and now she was the one in the centre of attention.
I again have to say how much I hate Grace’s parents. Even more than in Shiver. They are just terrible parents and terrible humans. If you read the book, you understand.
I feel like I just need to mention how much I ship Cole and Isabel. I love their relationship because it’s a complete opposite to Sam and Grace’s, with Isabel and Cole it’s not about love, it’s about need and I think that only highlights how complex and also messed up characters they actualy are. They are just perfect together.

I’m in love with Maggie Stiefvater‘s writing style. I think that’s quite obvious, but I wanted to point it out anyway. Metaphores are the best part definitely, but I also really like her atmosphere, how she describes characters’ feelings and how that affects their actions… She’s an artist and I admire her. There is one thing I’d like to highlight. These birds which Sam made constantly and thought about them as memories – how awesome is that? I think that just adds a new, special layer to the story. Even though it a tiny detail and some people wouldn’t even pay attention on it, I found it extremely interesting and beautiful. That’s why I love Maggie Stiefvater so much!

To wrap it all up, I would recommend this series to every person out there who is either a fan of romance, werevolves, young adult, paranormal or all of the above, like I am.

Leave a Reply

