R. L. Stine – Final Grade (Fear Street #30) | Review

Everyone thinks she killed her teacher
Intense, competitive, Lily Bancroft had good reasons to hate him. She lives to win, and he was about to destroy her dreams. But murder? That was going too far, even for someone as driven as Lily.
She’s innocent. But that hasn’t stopped the whispers behind her back. Or the weird phone calls late at night. Then someone else is brutally murdered and suddenly Lily is drawn into a nightmare she can’t begin to control. Will her final grade be her last?

★★★★☆ images

Getting beck to Stine‘s books is always a great experience for me. Final Grade was no different from his other books – which means it was fun, quick and creepy. I read it in one sitting and it was exactly what I needed in a study break. Premise was interesting, because every single one of his books has a different setting and situations in which characters find themselves are always original and I think that’s awesome, since he wrote A LOT of books.

The plot was not really a hit for me as I hoped it would be, but I enjoyed the book anyway. The only thing that really bothered me was the fact that I knew who is the killer halfway through the book. I read that one sentence in the book and I immediately knew who was it. I even marked it i my book and wrote down that I was 99% sure it’s that person. Aside from that, I really liked the book. It was fast-paced and crazy, we got some creepy murders, and even creepier characters.

Characters were pretty cliche and unoriginal, but I already got used to that in Stine‘s books.
Lily was such an annoying character. She frustrated me so much and I really hated her. She is just so stupid! Yeah, maybe she was smart when it came to school and studying, but I life situations, she was just dumb. But I guess none of the stuff would happen in the book if she was actualy clever.
I obviously can’t talk about other characters in the book because I would spoil everything for you, but I’m just going to say that the person who is the killer and the ‘bad guy’ in this book is just so creepy and I can’t even find a tiny little reason to like that person. It’s all so messed up, and if Lily didn’t annoy me so much, I would actually feel sorry for her.

I hate myself for saying this, but I’m not a huge fan of the writing style. I do enjoy Stine‘s books and all of that, but the style itself is actually pretty cheesy and and very simple. Everything in this book was naive and obvious, but somehow, I always buy it.

To wrap it all up, I just want to say that I’m glad I picked this book up, but I have to admit that younger me enjoyed R. L. Stine a lot more. I guess I’m a bit more mature reader now, but I still like to remember my favourite childhood authors.

Leave a Reply

