Holly Black & Cassandra Clare – The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1) | Review

Most kids would do anything to pass the Iron Trial.
Not Callum Hunt. He wants to fail.
All his life, Call has been warned by his father to stay away from magic. If he succeeds at the Iron Trial and is admitted into the Magisterium, he is sure it can only mean bad things for him.
So he tries his best to do his worst – and fails at failing.
Now the Magisterium awaits him. It’s a place that’s both sensational and sinister, with dark ties to his past and a twisty path to his future.
The Iron Trial is just the beginning, for the biggest test is still to come…

★★★★☆ 20578940

I had a lot of problems with this book and I feel a huge relief now when I finally finished it. Now, before I go more in depth about my thoughts on this book, I would like to say that I am not trying to hate the book or authors or anything, this is just my opinion.

I find this book to be very unoriginal. First, before I even started the book, I was kind of expecting something simmilar to Harry Potter because on the cover we have these three kids and a death eater (I can’t help it, I just call this guy death eater), and the back says it’s about this magic school, so yeah. However, I heard some great reviews on this book so I went into it expecting it to be awesome. I went into it open-minded and I was really hoping there are not much simmilarities with HP. Oh, how wrong I was.
I really liked these first couple of pages and I was really looking forward to this book, but then the actual plot started and I was surprised, but not in a good way. Not that the book reminded me of HP, but it reminded me even more of Percy Jackson. Especially the first part of the book when Call was trying to fail the Iron Trial. Later, I lost that PJ feel, but I started to find more and more simmilarities to Harry Potter and that bugged me so much. About one third in, I put the book down, read four other books, and then I decided I should pick it up again and just finish it. Simmilarities still bothered me, but the plot started picking up and the very slow begginning suddenly turned into very fast.past ending. I did enjoy the last third of the book the best, but I still think it was too rushed and we got a ton of information just thrown at us, completely at random, and I didn’t like that. The big reveal at the end was definitely unexpected and I think that idea itself was amazing and very cool, but in my opinion, the execusion of it was not vary well done, which is kind of disappointing.

I had a huge problem with out main character, Call. I just couldn’t make myself to like him. I find him very reckless, but not in a good way, and also very stupid. However, there is one thing about him that I like. I think it was very cool to use a disabeled person as a hero of the story, especially in middle.grad novel, because it shows people that it doesn’t matter who you are or what you can or can’t do, everyone can be a hero, and that’s just awesome.
I have mixed feelings about Tamara. Sometimes, especially at the beginning of the book, I really didn’t like her, but later, when we got to know her a bit better, I started to like her, but I feel like we didn’t see enough of her. He has a huge potential to become an awesome character, but she didn’t really get her chance in this book.
Aaron is probably my favourite character. Just like Tamara, I think he has some great potential, but authors didn’t really bother to develop his character a bit more, which makes me sad, because I really like him. When we found out this ”thing” about him, I was completely surprised because I expected that would happen to Call, not to him, but I found that to be cool. And then, when we found out the ”big thing about Call” (trying not to spoil here), I already saw all the complications that will make in Call and Aaron’s friendship in the future. I’m very excited about that, though.
Jasper reminded me so much of Draco Malfoy, I just couldn’t help it. Only the poor version. Because of that, I actually liked him at the beginning of the book, but later I realized he is not Draco and he’s just a jerk so I started to hate him.
Celia was just annoying, and Drew was completely underdeveloped as a character which is another huge disappointment.
Enemy was so Voldemort, everyone shoud admit that. That’s probably the biggest simmilarity to HP. Even the big twist, for which I said I think it’s awesome, reminded me of Harry Potter and the thing we find out in Deathly Hallows, but I try to get over that.

I really wanted to like this book since it’s co-written by one of my favourite authors of all time, but I guess I like the Shadowhunters better… The writing style itself was actually really good, great for a middle-grade novel, but the story was just disappointing. This series has a huge potential and I hope next books are better, but what really put me off was the fact that none of the stuff that happened in this book were convincing enough and all of it was too rushed and underdeveloped and a whole.

I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with the series, though I will probably pick the second book up when it comes out, only because of curiosity. I believe younger audience would really enjoy this book, because it’s still a good and fun read, but I guess I just expected too much from it.

3 thoughts on “Holly Black & Cassandra Clare – The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: Spring 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

