Lauren Oliver – Before I Fall | Review

With this stunning debut novel, New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver emerged as one of today’s foremost authors of young adult fiction. Like Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why and Gayle Forman’s If I Stay, Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person’s life can affect so many others.
For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.
However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

★★★★★ 6482837

I expected a lot from this book, since it’s written by one of my favourite authors, and I was not disappointed at all. The whole premise of this book sounded very interesting and since it’s Lauren Oliver, I knew it’s going to be executed beautifully, but I never expected to love this book as much as I did. Before I Fall was mindblowing and very thought-provoking, and when I finished reading it, I just wanted to hug this book and don’t let it go. Even now, a couple days later, I still find myself thinking about this book.

When I was only one chapter into this book, I was actually considering putting it down. I was disappointed and I hated the plot and the characters. However, I didn’t give up and I’m so glad about that now. In the first chapter, we got to see a ton of high school drama and nothing else, and I was not expecting that from Lauren Oliver. However, as the plot developed, I grew to love it more and more with each chapter. In the end, I understood why was the first chapter the way it was and my mind was blown by the fact how beautifully this book is put together. I love the idea that every chapter is one day in Sam’s life (though that makes chapters super long) and also, it was a nice detail that the prologue and epilogue started with the same sentence.

At the beginning I hated every single character in this book, main character included. I just couldn’t stand any of those stereotypical teenagers and their dramas. However, my opinion changed throughout the book.
First we got to meet our Mean Girls – Lindsay, Sam, Elody and Ally. I hated them all, but as the book went on, I ended up hating only Lindsay. I just couldn’t like that girl, not even after we found out her entire story. That actually made me hate her even more because her backstory only showed me how much of a bitch and a terrible person she is. I can’t understand why Sam still likes her. When it comes to Ally and Elody, they were just not there for me. They were always in the background, it feels like they were put in this book only so Sam can have more friends. Both of these girls were pretty underdeveloped and their characters were actually quite pointless.
I have a love-hate relationship with Sam, but in the end I decided that I like her. At the beginning of the book I really despised her, but she went through a huge character development (which was the point of this book) and I really like the person she became. However, I did not like what she did at the end of the book. I understand it, but I don’t think I would do it if I was in her shoes.
When it comes to Juliet, I have no idea what I think. At the very beginning I thought she was interesting character and I kind of liked her. In the middle of the book I felt very sorry for her and I could connect to her. In the last part of the book she became quite annoying and I just wanted Sam to stop helping her. Now when I finished the book, I have no idea how I feel or how should I feel about what happened.
Rob was probably my least favourite character in this book. He’s just a total dick and I’m so glad Sam realized that and dumped him (this is not really a spoiler). Hate the guy so much.
And now, I left my favourite character for the end. Kent is bae and I ship him and Sam so much. I wish I had someone like him in my life.

Before I Fall is Lauren Oliver‘s debut novel and I could totally tell that from her writing style. I’m not telling the writing style in this book is bad, on contrary, it’s absolutely beautiful and the book is amazing, but since I read some of her other books before, I can see the improvement in her writing. I think she gets better and better with every book she writes, and even her debut novel is written fantasticly.

The message this book sends is very important and I think every teenager (and adult) should read this book. Before I Fall reminded me a lot on Thirteen Reasons Why and If I Stay, but it was also completely different from those books. However, the message is the same. Everything affects everything. We should never forget that.

One thought on “Lauren Oliver – Before I Fall | Review

  1. Pingback: Spring 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

