Spring 2015 | Wrap-up

I decided to do these seasonal wrap-ups, which basically means that you’ll be getting a post like this every three months. In my spring wrap-up I’ll be telling you about all the books I’ve read in March, April and May. THis spring I managed to read only 9 books which is now very good, but I hope I will read more in upcoming months.

Cassandra Clare & Holly Black – The Iron Trial (Magisterium #1)   ★★★★☆
I was very disappointed with this book. I guess I expected too much from it, but for me, it was way too simmilar to Harry Potter and I could not make myself to love it. If you want to read more about what I thought about this book, I did a full review on it.

John Green – Looking for Alaska   ★★★★☆
This is my least favourite John Green book of the three that I’ve read so far. I did enjoy it, but I couldn’t really connect with the characters and the whole plotline was not a exciting as I hoped it would be. It was still a very beautiful story, and second part (After) was amazing, but I constantly felt like something was missing. That’s why it got four stars.

Lewis Carrol – Alice in Wonderland   ★★★☆☆
It was about time for me to finally read this book. It was fun and easy read, but I didn’t really see the point of this book. It was just super weird and pointless. Also, Alice was so annoying and very stupid. I know this is a children’s book and that Alce is very young, but I still think it was quite riddicolous. However, I’m glad I read this book.

Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan & Maureen Johnson – The Bane Chronicles   ★★★★☆
I love The Mortal Instruments series and I love Magnus Bane so I really expected a lot from this book. It was very fun and entertaining, we got to see some important parts of Magnus’ past, but overall, I did not love this book. I did like it, and there were some amazing stories that made me both laugh and cry, but there were also some stories that I found completely unnecessary and quite boring. However, I still enjoyed this book a lot and would definitely recommend it to all Shadowhunter lovers out there.

Voltaire – Candide   ★★☆☆☆
I was supposed to read this one for school and I really did not enjoy it. It was quite quick read, but that was the only positive thing I can say about it. The plot was just boring and I couldn’t wait to finish this book so I can pick up something interesting.

Lauren Oliver – Before I Fall   ★★★★★
I absolutely loved this book. Although, when I read the first chapter of it, I actually did not like it at all, but since it’s Lauren Oliver, I didn’t want to give up so easily and I ended up really liking it. It was just beautifuly and very thought-provoking and I would definitely recommend it. If you want to see more of my thoughts on this book, I also did a full review.

Kendare Blake – Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2)   ★★★★☆
I was anticipating this book for so long, and now when it finally got translated, I had to read it immediately. I did not eniterly live up to my expectations. It was fast-paced, entertaining and creepy, just like the first book, but I did not really see the point of existance of this book. If you are interested, I did a review as well.

Maggie Stiefvater – Sinner (Wolves of Mercy Falls #3.5)   ★★★★★
I love this book and I love Cole St. Clair even more. When I found out this book is based entirely on Cole and Isabelle’s relationship, I was sold. It did not disappoint me. I love their relationship so much and if this book was 1000 pages long, I wouldn’t mind. It would be perfect. If you want to see my more in-depth thoughts, here is a review.

C. J. Lyons – Lifelines (Angels of Mercy #1)   ★★★★★
This book is definitely not something I usually read, but I loved it so much. It is probably my favourite book I’ve read this season. Reading it felt like watching Gray’s Anatomy or ER or some show like that, and I love those shows. I did a review on this book as well, so make sure to check it out.

Those are all the books I’ve managed to finish in the past three months. As I already said, my favourite of the season is Lifelines and I would definitely recommend it, even if you don’t usually read that genre. What is your favourite book that you’ve read lately?  Feel free to comment, I love seeing what other people read and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

