Rick Riordan – The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3) | Review

IT’S NOT EVERYDAY YOU FIND YOURSELF IN COMBAT WITH A HALF-LION, HALF-HUMAN.
But when you’re the son of a Greek god, it happens. And now my friend Annabeth is missing, a goddess is in chains and only five half-blood heroes can join the quest to defeat the doomsday monster.
Oh, and guess what? The Oracle has predicted that not all of us will survive…

★★★★★ 561456

I am so glad I finally picked this one up and read it. I expected it to be fun and lighthearthed and it was. I love the Percy Jackson world and it always makes me happy. Since this book is quite short, I managed to fly through it in just two days and it put me in a mood when I want to read ten books per day (obviously impossible).

Just like other Percy Jackson books, this one was action-packed from the very beggining and I could not put it down. I had to know what was happening and I constantly needed more of Percy kicking some monster’s butt. The plot continues where the second book left off and we got to see some new aspects of Greek mythology (aside from funny parts, Greek mythology is my favourite thing about this series) and the way all these Greek myths are put together in the modern world always leaves me mindblown. I need to say this: Rick Riordan is a genius.

I love Percy as a protagonist. He is probably one of my favourite main characters ever. He’s a king of sass and I love him so much. He always manages to make me smile and I often find myself laughing out loud while reading these books. Aside from his sass, he’s also a great hero and a friend and I wish I knew someone like him in my real life.
Aside from old characters, we had a lot of new characters in this one, which I did not really like. I found Zoe to be extremely annoying and I could not stand her at all, but at the end I started to appreciate her character a bit more. I also did not like Bianca, but I did not change my opinion on her as the book went on. When it comes to Nico, I like that little boy a lot. I just wanted to hug him. He’s just the cutest.
Talia is one very interesting character and I have very mixed feelings about her. I think she’s very cool and kickbutt, but sometimes I just could not stand her (but I guess that’s because the book is narrated by Percy, so I kind of felt the way he felt in all these different situations). However, I decided that I like Talia, but I do not like the decision she made at the end of the book. That disappointed me a lot.
When it comes to ships, I am very confused. I ship everyone with everyone. But, of course, Percabeth! I love how we got only a tiny little bit of what is going to happen between them in the next books (hopefully!). They’re just perfect for each other.

I don’t think I have a lot to say about the writing style because I don’t want to be repetitive. This book was very entertaining and easy to read. Thrilling and funny, it was all I needed to relax from school and celebrate the beginning of summer break (though this one actually takes place in winter, but I did not know that before I started reading it – idiot). Rick Riordan is my hero and I love his writing a lot. After I’m done with Percy Jackson, I will definitely be reading his other books. As I already said, genius.

Even thouh these books are technically middle-grade, I recommend them to everyone, no matter how old you are. Popular opinion is that everyone can enjoy Percy and his adventures, so if you didn’t, definitely give these books a try.

One thought on “Rick Riordan – The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3) | Review

  1. Pingback: June 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

