Veronica Roth – Divergent (Divergent #1) | Review

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.
During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

★★★★★ 13335037

I felt like I was the only person in the book world who still hadn’t read this book, so I decided it’s time to finally pick it up. And I LOVED it. I can totally see why is this trilogy so hyped and why everyone loves this book. Now I can finally join the fandom and it makes me very happy. Even though I went into this book with some expectations (I’ve been spoiled on a few parts before, because I use internet and this series is all over it), I experienced this book on a very weird way. Basically everything I pictured this book would be was more or less wrong and while reading I was super excited because I had no idea what was happening, which is actually surprising, since I’m super late with this book.

This book has been compared to The Hunger Games and Harry Potter a lot, but I don’t think it deserves it. Yeah, it’s a great book, just like THG and HP, and I could find some minor simmilarities with these series, but overall I think Divergent is not like The Hunger Games, and even less like Harry Potter.
The whole premise of this book souded so cool and original, and once I actually started reading this book I realized it’s even better than I first expected. I like the idea behing factions and how the society works, but the bad aspects of that same society were also portrayed very well. Of course I had to ask myself which faction would I choose if I lived in that world and it turned out to be a tough question. At the end I decided that I’d pick either Dauntless or Erudite, though I don’t think I would fully belong to any. However, there is no way I’d pick Amity, Abnegation or Candor.
The plot in this book was very interesting and I couldn’t put the book down the entire time. I love Dauntless and their faction was very well developed, so we got to really understand how it all works with them and who they really are. The only problem is that we didn’t get to see that with other four factions.
My favourite aspect of this book were all the simulations Tris and others went through. I found them extremely fascinating and just awesome. A huge plus was that it was actually explained how these work and the reasons behind each. So freaking cool!
When it comes to the ending, it felt a bit rushed, but I don’t really mind since I was so excited and I just had to know what happens next so I flew through these last 60-70 pages. I liked how this book ended because there is enough material for the next two books, but it didn’t really end on a cliffhanger so I’m not dying to read Insurgent immediately (though I will definitely read it in the next couple of weeks).

I love Tris so much. She is probably one of my favourite female protagonists ever. Seriously. She’s an amazing lead character, she’s not annoying at all and I could connect with her easily. The thing I like the most about her is that she doesn’t think she the prettiest, best at fighting or basically best in any way, but she’s still fighting and trying to get better, which eventually happens. I appreciate her character a lot and the development we saw throughout the book was fantastic. She started at the bottom, but with hard work she got to the top and I admire her for that. She’s a great role model and I wish there were more heroines in YA literature like her.
Now, Four. Don’t hate me for saying this, but I didn’t like him very much. But let me explain myself. I definitely see why everyone loves Four and I was going into this book expecting to love him, since I usually fall for that type of characters. However, it didn’t click. I don’t hate him or anything like that, but I can’t force myself to like him either. I just feel nothing for him. Okay, I’ll admit, there are some interesting aspects to his character which I really like, and he’s definitely very badass, but I guess that just wasn’t enough for me this time. I really hope I’ll start liking him more in the next two books, but for now I just can’t. What I think caused me not liking Four is the fact that I don’t ship him and Tris. At all. Don’t shoot me. I just don’t feel their chemistry and I couldn’t make myself root for them. Yeah, they have treir cute moments (throwing knifes was not one of them), but most of the time Four just frustrated me with his hot and cold attitude. Nope, I don’t support that romance. However, I found another ship for myself, since I can’t read a book without shipping at least one pair (not necessarily a couple). Uriah and Tris. I think they’re great together, even though we didn’t see that much of Uriah in this book. I hope that changes in the next two. Yeah, so Uriah is my second favourite character in this book, after Tris. I don’t really know why, but I love him whole lot.

I really liked the writing style in this book. It was simple, straight-to-the-point and easy to read. There were some poetic parts, but not too much since otherwise it wouldn’t really fit the whole atmosphere. The whole plot was very action-packed so the writing was fast-paced and it managed to keep my attention the entire time.When it comes to world-building, I’m happy that informations were not thrown at us at the very beginning, but we got to slowly discover Tris’ world, alongside with her.

Okay, this review is quite long so I’ll just stop now. If there is anyone out there who hasn’t read this book yet (which I doubt, but still, you can never know), you should go read it. I was a bit sceptical about it because of all the hype, but it’s definitely worth the read. These is a little bit of everything so I believe anyone can find something enjoyable in this book.

4 thoughts on “Veronica Roth – Divergent (Divergent #1) | Review

  1. This is a great review! I can’t remember a lot of it anymore but I do know that I also wish there was more of the other factions, not just Dauntless 😛

  2. Pingback: June 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

