Morgan Matson – Since You’ve Been Gone | Review

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.
On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?
Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.
Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?
Kiss a stranger? Um…
Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?
Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

★★★★★ 18189606

In a well-ordered universe everyone would read this book and love it.

When I first heard about this book a year ago, I was especially intrigued by the premise so I didn’t even consider picking it up. However, this year, #MonthofMatson was happening and even though this book was not my first choice for the readalong, I started listening it on audio and I don’t regret it at all. I absolutely adored this book and I recommend it to EVERYONE. Literally.

The plot in this book is developed so well and the more I think about it, the idea behind this book sounds better to me. All these stuff on the list were very clever and fun, but what I like the most is the fact that whatever I expected to happen and however I imagined Emily would fulfill each task, it turned out ten times better and ten times more original.
Thins book made me want to have a friend like Sloane who would make me lists of stuff I should do over the summer, and also, a friend to whom I could make lists as well. I am very tempted to suggest this idea to my best friend.
Even though Emily decides do to stuff on the list only because she thinks that’s the way she would find Sloane, later she really starts to enjoy herself and she doesn’t think about Sloane as much as she did before. I liked the mystery aspect to the whole story and the fact that until the end of the book we didn’t find out where the hell was Sloane. The ending did not disappoint me at all and I ended up really liking the reson behing Sloane’s leaving and all that. It all wrapped up nicely and I’m glad that ending didn’t feel like these unrealistic And they lived happily ever after stories. Yeah, it’s quite a happy ending, but it was still realistic.

Characters were okay most of the time, but now that I think a bit more about them, I realize that all of them were kind of flat and without personality most of the time. Which is kind of a disappointment.
I did connect to Emily and I was really rooting for her to complete the list and find Sloane, but sometimes she was just not special enough to me. However, I still like her and she was one of the better female protagonists in YA contemporaries.
I didn’t love Frank, but I liked him enough to ship him and Emily. He was one of the less flat and boring characters, but I still found him not-so-interesting at times. But I definitely love his relationship with Emily and I shipped them from the very beginning. I love their chemistry. In a well-ordered universe, everyone would have their Frank or their Emily.
I am not a huge fan of Sloane. Even now when I know her reasons, I still don’t think it was okay from her to abandon her best friend without a word. I feel like she’s that type of girl who believes everything is about her and I don’t really like that type of characters.
Collins is my favourite character what-so-ever. I just love the guy and I knew I was going to like him from the moment he showed up. He’s funny and open, sometimes can seem like a jerk, but he’s a really good friend and he proves that a ton of times thorugh the book.

When it comes to writing, I have nothing bad to say. It’s just amazing. Simple, but also lyrical at rare occasions. Very easy to read and it really helped me fly through this book. Though the beginning was a bit slow, it picked up very quickly and I was hooked immediately. Morgan Matson really knows how to write a good book about frindship, romance and even family. I can’t wait to read her other books.

Overall, this book was a whole lot of fun and I higly enjoyed it. As I already said, I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for some cute and fun summer read. Also, i’d suggest listening to it on audio (that’s how I did it) because in my opinion, you get to experience this book on a whole different level. But, I think you can enjoy it just as much if you read it in any other format.

One thought on “Morgan Matson – Since You’ve Been Gone | Review

  1. Pingback: June 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

