Jamie McGuire – Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1) | Review

The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.
Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs—and wants—to avoid. He spends his nights winning money in a floating fight ring, and his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

★★★★☆ 11505797

I had so much fun reading this book. Yeah, I had some problems with it, but these didn’t really affect the good time I had while reading. Damn, this book was entertaining! I first heard about this book a little after Fifty Shades of Grey came out and everyone who liked Fifty Shades of Grey loved this one and said it was so much better than Fifty Shades. However, I was not very interested in it, since Fifty Shades didn’t sound very appealing to me either. However, recently I got really interested in the NA genre and I while I was at the library trying to find a Coleen Hoover book (which I couldn’t find) I came across this one and I instantly picked it up. I read the back and the premise sounded pretty cool so I decided to get it.  I regret nothing.

As I already said, the premise of this book is very interesting and I got excited about this book immediately. I was a bit confused when the bet ended before even halfway through the book and I had no idea what will be happening throughout the rest of the book. However, I kept reading because I was so into the story and everything, I couldn’t put the book down. Plotwise, there was a ton of drama, mostly unnecessary, but I really enjoyed it and had a lot of fun reading. I really got immersed in the plot and even though it was extremely unrealistic and often ridiculous, I really liked it. I guess I found my guilty pleasure. Another thing that helped my fly through this book, except for this huge amount of drama that keeps you at the end of your seat the entire time, was the fast pace this book has. Not just fast, but like super-fast. So many stuff happened in these 300-and-something pages, I didn’t even think it’s possible to write a 300-paged book with so much plot.
When it comes to the ending, it was a bit too much for me, but I can’t say I hate it because it’s definitely what I was rooting for (kind of). However, that last sentence blew me away. It’s nothing deep or emotional or anything like that. I just found it so fitting and kind of funny. Loved it. If you read the book, you know what I’m talking about.

I don’t know how I feel about the characters in this book. I have a love-hate realtionship with all of them.
Abby was pretty flat at the beginning and I couldn’t really see why does Travis thinks she’s so special, but I started to appreciate her character a lot more after we got to find out her past. That aspect of her character was very well done.
Oh, Travis Maddox. I loved him so much at the beginning of the book. Now, don’t get me wrong, I still love him so much, but he changed a lot throughout the book so I don’t really know what I feel now. Yeah, he’s a possesive jerk through most of the book and his obsession with Abby is quite unhealty, but you just can’t not love him. However, my favourite aspect of his character is his family. I’m in love with all of them. Maddox family is just the best.
I have to say how much I hated Parker. I just wanted to puke whenever he spoke. I don’t understand why Travis didn’t just beat the hell out of that guy.
No matter how I feel about these two main characters individually, I freaking love them together. Okay, they’re highly disfunctional and their relationship is not the best, but I ship them so hard. I loved the comparison of their relationship with a tornado. It’s exactly how I see them. Perfect. You can’t read this book and not root for them. My heart was broken at least five times while reading this book, but I kept reading because I knew they’ll get back together again. And then fight again. I wanted to yell at her, I wanted to yell at him, I wanted to yell at both. But I also couldn’t get the smile off my face when they finally realized how much they love eachother. So yeah, this book’s a freaking rollercoaster.

The writing style is probably one of my favourite things about this book. It was simple and straight to the point, very fast-paced and often quite dramatic, but perfect for this kind of story. I was perfectly okay with cursing and the language used in the book and I don’t think the book would have the same effect if the author used only polite words. There were some beautiful quotes through the book and often I had to close a book for a second and just breathe becuase I got so into the story that I forgot how to inhale and exhale. Yeah, that actually happened. Sex scenes were not as detailed as I expected them to be, and I’m still debating if I’m disappointed with that or not. But I’m going to say I’m fine with that. All in all, I really like Jamie McGuire writing style and I can’t wait to read her other books. I think her books are great for pulling you out of the reading slump.

I can definitely see reasons why people hate this book, but i can also see why people love it. Though I was trying to be objective while writing this review and talk about both good and bad sides of this book, I think it’s pretty obvious how much I enjoyed it. If you’re looking for a quick, fun romance book, I definitely recommend this book to you. However, if you want to read something more complex and deep, maybe this isn’t a best choice for you.

One thought on “Jamie McGuire – Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: June 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

