June 2015 | Wrap-up

I know I said that I’ll be doing wrap-ups every three months now, but I realized that wouldn’t work in the summer time since I read a lot during summer break. I guess we’re back to monthly wrap-ups.
In the month of June I managed to finish 7 books and start a few more. It’s not the best reading month I’ve ever had, but it’s definitely the best this year so far. I’m finally back into reading and I hope it’ll stay that way throughout the entire summer. I am very proud of myself because I managed to read most of my June TBR, but of course I complete it, becuase I’m an idiot. Nevertheless, let’s talk about books I’ve read the past month.

1. Robin Sloan – Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore   ★★★★☆
I had very high expectations going into this book, since it’s book about books, but it wasn’t really what I expected. However, it was still very good and very enjoyable and I’d recommend it to every book-lover out there. I also did a full review on this book.

2. Robert Naprta – Testament grofa Drakule (Luna #2)   ★★☆☆☆
This is a book written by a Croatian author so that’s probably why you haven’t heard of it before. I found this book incredibly stupid and quite pointless, but I have to admit it was somewhat entertaining so I pushed through and finished it.

3. Rick Riordan – The Titan’s Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #3)   ★★★★★
I picked this book up expecting it to be a fun summery read. I did not know this book was set during Christmas break. However, that didn’t lower my entertainment and I still highly enjoyed this book. I just love Percy so much. Also, make sure to check my review.

4. Meg Rosoff – How I Live Now   ★★★★☆
I wanted to read this book since Ariel talked about it on her channel and I’m so glad I finally picked it up. It takes a while to get into, but I am happy that I sticked to it and read the whole thing because only now I can fully appreciate this book. Definitely recommend. If you want more of my thoughts on this book, there’s a review.

5. Veronica Roth – Divergent (Divergent #1)   ★★★★★
I did it! I finally read this book. And I loved it. Now I can finally join this huge fandom and I can’t wait to read the next two books in this trilogy. This book is fraking fantastic! So of course, I reviewed it.

6. Morgan Matson – SInce You’ve Been Gone   ★★★★★
I read this book for #MonthofMatson and I’m so happy I decided to participate in that event. This was my first Morgan Matson book and I really enjoyed it. Perfect summer read. Highly recommend. Make sure to ckeck my review.

7. Jamie McGuire – Beautiful Disaster (Beautiful #1)   ★★★★☆
I love this book. I know it’s not the best book out there, but it’s so fun and entertaining. Definitely my guilty pleasure. Very much recommend. Now go check my review, because I’m getting all the feels again and I can’t talk about it anymore.

These are all the books I finished in June, but I did start some other ones so now I’m going to talk about these.

I am still (since April!) currently reading A Game of Thrones by George R. R: Martin. I hate myself for reading it so slowly. It’s a reread and I don’t even know why I’m struggling with it so much. I could’ve just put it down. I guess I’m too stubborn for that. I have around 250 pages left and it needs to be finished in July. I can do it.
I also started reading an ebook version of Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Though #MonthofMatson is now over, I still really want to read this one so I’m definitely going to do so in July.
I also got my first e-ARC via NetGalley and it’s Placid Girl by Brenna Ehrlich so I had to start reading it immediately. Unfortunately, it was the end of the month so I didn’t manage to finish it before July 1st.

This month I also DNFed one book. And my heart ache now. It’s Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith. I got 35 pages in and I gave up. It’s not that the book is bad or anything, but I started feeling a bit slumpy while reading it and didn’t want to push through and earn a reading slump. Also, I needed to return it to the library. I hope I’ll pick it up sometimes in the future, when I’m more in the mood for that type of book.

That would be it for my June wrap-up. What did you read last month? If you read any of the books I mentioned, what did you think of them? Do you have any plans for the upcoming month? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

