Sally Green – Half Wild (Half Life #2) | Review

boo review

In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, seventeen-year-old Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most powerful and violent witch. Nathan is hunted from all sides: nowhere is safe and no one can be trusted. Now, Nathan has come into his own unique magical Gift, and he’s on the run–but the Hunters are close behind, and they will stop at nothing until they have captured Nathan and destroyed his father.

3

I have so many feels right now and I want to mention so many things in this review, but I bet I’ll forget half of it. I’m just overwhelmed with emotions and I have a huge book hangover. So this review will probably be a complete mess. Sorry for that.20814989

I read the first book in this trilogy, Half Bad, last summer and I completely loved it so I was highly anticipating this one. I love the cover even more than the cover of the first book, which I thought was impossible. However, the content was not nearly as good as in Half Bad. Or I just didn’t enjoy it as much.

First chapter of this book was really good and I was very excited to be back in this world, but then next chapter came and it all went downhill. I really struggled to read this book, I was not into it at all and I was seriously thinking about DNF-ing it. However, I pushed through and when I got more than halfway through, I thought I may as well finish it. And now I’m so glad I did. There is basically no plot through the most of the book, but then so much stuff happens in the last 100-150 pages that it get totally insane. Though I think this last part of the book was too rushed, I really enjoyed it and it really helped me to fly through that last portion of the book. I don’t see why the first part of the book had to drag so much. Literally nothing happened, except Nathan fantasizing about Annalise and bonding with Gabriel at the same time (though I loved the Gabriel parts). I just don’t understand why did Sally Green leave the best and most exciting part of the book for the very end when she could’ve done so much more with that plot and spread it throughout the entire book instead of having this huge pointless intro. Oh, and the very, very end. I hate it. It was very good and I like how it fits into the whole story, but I hate it. I can’t talk about it without spoiling everything, but if you read the book, you know.

I hate Annalise. She should’ve just die. A long time ago. For example, at the very beginning of the first book. She’s so stupid and she acts like a princess in a fucking fairytale when there is war all around her. She’s all about giggling and making out with Nathan, but she doesn’t even know him that well. She’s just excited about the fact he’s badass and kind of famous, but she doesn’t accept him for he truly is. Urgh, I really dislike her. Also, the ending. Nope. But at least now I know there is no fucking chance that Nathan will end up with her.
Okay, I need to calm down. Nathan. I have mixed feelings about him. I really liked him in the first book, but through this one, he became really annoying with his fantasizing about Annalise and risking everything for her. AND THEY ARE NOT GOOD FOR EACH OTHER! Though I do appreciate his character when he’s not all about Annalise. For example, when he’s with Gabriel. Or when he transforms. Or when he’s with Marcus. Then I really like him. I think the best aspect of this book is Nathan’s character and it’s development. He’s very confused about who he is and what he feels and all that is very well protrayed in this book, even better thn in the first one. I love it how he obviously has feelings for Gabriel, but he just doesn’t want to admit it, neither to him or to himself. And that’s driving me crazy. And then he goes to Annalise and tells her that he loves her. Damn, I hated all the Nathan/Annalise scenes.
Okay, back to Gabirel so I don’t get upset again. I love Nathan when he’s with him. They’re perfect for each other. Nathan trusts him completely, and only him. Gabriel understands him and accepts him for who he truly is, both his good and bad side. Gabriel supports him in whatever he decides to do, but he also tells him his opinion on it, whether he agrees with him or not. And these are only some of the reasons why Nathan and Gabriel have to end up together. I ship them above anything. Also, the best scene in this book whas The Kiss (if you read the book, you know, if you haven’t, sorry for a spoiler, but I can’t not mention it). I fangirled so hard, and then Sally Green decided to break my heart. Not cool.
I will just quickly mention my love for Marcus. I love him so much and he’s definitely one of my favourite characters in this book. Yeah, he’s a monster and he kills a lot of people, but that’s exactly why I love him. And I really appreciate the relationship between him and Nathan. He may not be the healthiest role model in the world for Nathan, but in my opinion, he is the best. I know I said it already, but I hate the ending so much.

The writing was a bit disappointing for me. I was really looking forward to those second-person chapters, but we got almost none. However, I do really appreciate that the last chapter was in the second person. It put a smile on my face after the heartbreak. Aside from regular first-person writing, there was nothing especially bad about it. It was fine, but nothing special. Just another solid writing. Oh, and I really like that chapters are mostly short. That really helped when I was struggling to read this book.

Overall, Half WIld was not as good as the first book and I definitely enjoyed it a lot less, but the end of the book kind of made up for it. But not completely. If you read and liked Half Bad, I suggest you picking this one up and stick to it because it does get a lot better and now I’m very excited about the final book. I really hope Sally Green won’t disappoint me again.

One thought on “Sally Green – Half Wild (Half Life #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: July 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

