Kiera Cass – The Selection (The Selection #1) | Review

boo review

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.
But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

4

I’ve been hearing about this book a lot lately so I finally checked it out in the library and read it. I was prepared for a not-so-great book with an annoying main character (I was seriously mentaly prepared to hate America) and the only expectation I had going into it was to have fun. I was pleasantly surprised.10507293

When I started reading, it reminded me a lot of The Hunger Games. I don’t know if anyone else had that feeling, but I just found a ton of simmilarities. The Selection was girly and just tamer version of The Hunger Games. I’ll give you few examples: dystopian world where the protagonist is poor and has a chance to become rich if wins in a competition (it’s just that here she doesn’t have to kill anyone), our lead has a younger sister who she really loves, the two love interests are so Peeta (Maxon) and Gale (Aspen)… Oh, and we even have our Effie Trinket in here – Silvia. Surprisingly, that didn’t bother me as much as you may think now. I just find it kind of funny.
The plot itself was actually very interesting and I managed to fly through it. The romance takes a huge part in this book, so don’t expect anything else from it, except a lot of drama and huge amount of fun.

As I said, I was really prepared to hate America SInger. A lot of people say that she’s the most annoying protagonist ever and I went into this book expecting that, but it didn’t happen. Okay, she’s not the best, but I didn’t find her as annoying as everyone else portrayed her. I even really liked her at the beginning. Toward the end when she started playing with both Aspen and Maxon, she started to annoy me. So maybe she becomes the most annoying protagonist ever in the next books.
When it comes to our love interests, I have no idea for who I root for. At the beginning, I really liked Aspen and I was so sure I’ll be team Aspen, but then he broke my heart and Maxon showed up. However, I didn’t like Maxon immediately. Then I started liking Maxon more and more, but Aspen also couldn’t leave me alone. I DON’T KNOW which team I am! I like them both, but I don’t really love either of them. Okay, maybe I understand why is America indecisive. But if I really had to choose who I like better, I’m leaning a bit more toward Aspen. But just a bit.
When it comes to relationships between America and these two guys, I have mixed feelings. I actually really like her relationship with Maxon, but the problem is that at the beginning, I friendzoned Maxon and I really enjoyed their relationship when they were friends. On the other hand, Aspen was immediately categorized as a boyfirend material in my mind so I guess that’s why I’m rooting for him a bit more.
I don’t really have anything to say about other characters, since they all seem quite unimportant. We didn’t really get to know any of them and they are all just names and roles for me, not real people, Which is a bit disappointing, but whatever.

Kiera Cass‘ writing style was average. Not bad, but there was nothing special to it. However, I think it fit perfectly to the story and I appreciate that the author didn’t push it too hard and didn’t try to be lyrical or sound too smart when that was completely unneccesary. Dialogues in this book were not perfect and that’s probably my only complaint about the writing. When two characters talked, it all seemed a bit too juvenille, but I went over that and reminded myself that I’m reading a YA book and I should get used to it.

Overall, I highly enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a fun and easy read. I will definitely be continuing with the trilogy very soon. Reading about this highly unrealistic boy drama is just so entertaining and relaxing.

3 thoughts on “Kiera Cass – The Selection (The Selection #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: Kiera Cass – The Elite (The Selection #2) | Review | Book Monster

  2. Pingback: July 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

