Jessica Sorensen – The Secret of Ella and Micha (The Secret #1) | Review

boo review

Ella and Micha have been best friends since they were kids. But one tragic night shatters their friendship and their lives forever.
Ella used to be a rule-breaker with fiery attitude who wore her heart on her sleeve. But she left everything behind when she went to college and transformed into someone that follows the rules, keeps everything together, and hides all her problems. But now it’s summer break and she has nowhere else to go but home.
Ella fears everything she worked so hard to bury might resurface, especially with Micha living right next door. If Micha tries to tempt the old her back, she knows that it will be hard to resist.
Micha is sexy, smart, confident, and can get under Ella’s skin like no one else can. He knows everything about her, including her darkest secrets. And he’s determined to bring his best friend, and the girl he loves back, no matter what it takes.

4

I randomly found this book in a store and since it was pretty cheap, I bought it. Yesterday I was trying to find what to read next and the moment I saw this book on my shelf, I knew I had to read it. I would have probably read it in one sitting, but I had to stop halfway through, so I ended up reading it in two sittings. Also, this is the first book this summer that kept me awake until I finished it.

I was sucked into the story from the very beginning and I just flew through this book. The whole setting was very different from what I usually read, but it was very cool and refreshing. Even though this is just another NA book, I highly enjoyed it and this book was definitely much more than two people having sex. Secrets from the past gave another layer to this story and made it very emotional and beautiful. My heart was broken a few times while reading and I wouldn’t say this is the happiest book to read, but there were definitely a lot of moments when I smiled like an idiot. The romance is the big part of this book, but I would say that it’s more character-driven and self-discovery is very important part of it. Also, this book reminded me a bit of Beautiful Disaster, but that’s the only other NA book I read, so I assume all of these books are more or less the same. Which is great, because that means I’ll never run out of fun and quick books. 15717876

As I said, characters are very important in this book and I really liked that. Each and every one of them has it’s own story and it’s own problems, but the way their stories intertwine is just amazing.
I have mixed feelings about Ella. I love the ”old” Ella and I admire her, but the ”new” Ella just went on my nerves. I wanted to slap her and yell at her that she can’t just run away from problems and keep everything inside. Other than that, she was pretty cool and I liked her.
Micha is my bae. I love him so much and I was rooting for him through the entire book. I love him for not giving up on Ella and being there for her even though he knew all her secrets. Also, he’s a hot musician, he fixes cars, participates in car races, has problems with his father, is very determined to get back the girl he loves… isn’t that enough to fall in love with him?
The romance between the two was very interesting. It wasn’t insta-love and I really appreciate that, but it wasn’t really slow-burning either, since the sexual tension was very obvious from the very beginning. However, I ship them very hard, they’re just so cute and amazing together.
Lila was really annoying at the beginning because she was all princess-y and naive, but later I started to appreciate her character a lot more when we found out her story. Though I think it could’ve been a bit more developed. Her relationship with Ethan was a bit forced and I didn’t really buy it, but it was fun to read about, anyway.
When it comes to Dean, I’m not really sure what’s his problem. He’s a total douchebag and I couldn’t care less about him.

Now you’re probably thinking why I gave this book four stars when I didn’t say anything bad about this book. Well, I haven’t mentioned the writing yet. It was the biggest disappointment of this book. It just sounded so cheesy and dialogues were very weird and sometimes I had to go back and read these last few lines again because I got confused. I also realized I like Ella’s POV a bit more because when I was reading from Micha’s POV everything sounded so unrealistic and super-cheesy. The whole book was very fast-paced and that didn’t always work well because at times I just wanted to know more about that particular moment, but the author was already on another chapter. Another thing – I think this book would’ve been a lot better without the sex. Or at least, if characters just stopped thinking about sex for a second. Also, it bothered me how Ella and Micha always acted like they’re alone and didn’t really care that trere are people around them. But that’s just my opinion.

So, the final verdict. I really enjoyed this book and even though the writing is not the best, I managed to ignore that while reading and just enjoy the story. It was a lot of fun and I would recommend it if you’re into NA and all that stuff. I am just discovering New Adult and I think this is a great book to begin with. Definitely give it a try if it sounds like something you’d enjoy.

One thought on “Jessica Sorensen – The Secret of Ella and Micha (The Secret #1) | Review

  1. Pingback: July 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

