Kiera Cass – The Elite (The Selection #2) | Review

boo review

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?
America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

4

I just read my review on the first book in the trilogy, The Selection, and I can’t stop laughing. My opinions changed so much after I read the second book. The Elite was not particularly better or worse than The Selection, which is a good thing because that means we have a constant. It was a very satisfying sequel and I was in the perfect mood for the book like this.  16248068

There was a lot more plot in this book, but that also means a lot more drama. We finally got to some more serious topics than just America’s love life (this is a dystopian trilogy, after all), but I think that potential could’ve been used a bit more. The Elite was even more fast-paced and even more fun than The Selection, but the way America’s relationships developed was not my favourite thing. However, I couldn’t expect her to choose immediately, since we still have one more book to go, right? And even though I know who she’s going to end up with (damn you, spoilers), I’m still excited to see how that is going to happen.

I know that in my last review I said that I don’t find America that annoying. Well, I was wrong. In this book, I just wanted to slap her and I was rolling my eyes whenever she changed her mind (which was on pretty much every single page). Just decide, woman! It’s pretty obvious who she likes better and who she really wants, but her reasons for not being sure are the most stupid thing ever. Now I can totally see why is everyone so frustrated with her.
My opinion on both Maxon and Aspen changed quite a bit as well. In the first book, I was rooting a bit more for Aspen, but in this book my feelings dropped. He was not really there and I have a feeling like he came up only when America needed to change her mind again so she can annoy me even more. I don’t see their connection anymore and now I feel like he’s just pushing too hard, instead leaving her alone.
I grew to love Maxon, though my feelings for him constantly changed throughout the book. But let’s say I understand him. Mostly. What I don’t understand is why is he dealing with America’s shit. He’s doing everything for her, but all she does is whining and complaining and being indecisive. If I was him, I’d just send her home and go after someone who would appreciate me more. However, I can’t not ship them. I want them to end up together, if America ever makes a decision.
I hate the King. That’s all I’m going to say about him because he doesn’t deserve anything else. If you read the book, you’ll understand.

The writing is still average and I still like it.  I still think it fit perfectly to the story and I appreciate that the author didn’t push it too hard and didn’t try to be lyrical or sound too smart when that was completely unneccesary. Dialogues in this book were equally not perfect as in the first book, but I learned to ignore that and just enjyoy the story.

To wrap it all up, I flew through this book. It was really entertaining and I would definitely recommend this trilogy if you’re looking for something fun and not very realistic. I’m definitely reading the last book in this trilogy very soon.

One thought on “Kiera Cass – The Elite (The Selection #2) | Review

  1. Pingback: July 2015 | Wrap-up | Book Monster

Leave a Reply

