July 2015 | Wrap-up

wrap-up

I read only one book from my July TBR. Yes, only ONE. I’m a mess, I know. However, I have an excuse. Kind of. I was supposed to go on a vacation at the beginning of July and that’s when I’d do most of my reading. However, our vacation got pushed back because of mom’s work, so we’re going on a vacation in August. That’s why I didn’t read any of the books that I planned – I was saving them for when I actually go at the seaside. The good thing is: I got to read some other books!

1. Brenna Ehrlich – Placid Girl   ★★★★★
This was my first e-ARC ever and I really enjoyed it. It was messed up and weird, it’s definitely not for everyone, but I loved it. Since it’s an ARC, of course I reviewed it.

2. Kory Merritt – The Dreadful Fate of Yonathan York: A Yarn for the Strange at Heart    ★★★☆☆
This was my first graphic novel ever. I also got this book as an e-ARC for a review, but I’ll post a review on it closer to the release date (it comes out in October). I did not enjoy it as much as I wanted to, but it was okay.

3. Sally Green – Half Wild (Half Life #2)   ★★★☆☆
This book was a bit of a disappointment because it did not live up to the first book. However, I still enjoyed it and I’m glad I read it. I also did a review on it, so you can see all of my conflicted feelings there.

4. Thomas Hoobler – Come Sit by Me   ★★★★☆
This one was another e-ARC. I loved it. I had a few problems with it, but overall, I really enjoyed it and I would recommend it. Make sure to check out my review if it sounds like something you’d like.

5. George R. R. Martin – A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1)   ★★★★★
Finally! It’s done. This one was a re-read for me and I’m so glad I did it. I’m not re-reading the next two books because it’s a huge commitment, and I’ll jump to the fourth book straight away. Do I even have to say I love this world and how complex characters and plot are? I don’t think so. If you haven’t yet, go read these books!

6. Rick Riordan – The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #4)   ★★★★★
This is the only book from my July TBR that I actually read. I listened to it via audiobook and in my opinion, it wasn’t the best choice. I prefer reading a physical book when it comes to this series. However, I still really enjoyed it and I can’t wait to read the final book. Though I’m still debating which format should I use.

7. Kiera Cass – The Selection (The Selection #1)   ★★★★☆
I highly enjoyed this book. It’s fun and easy to read, full of romance and drama, but very quick and entertaining. Definitely recommend! Also, I did a review on it.

8. J. R. Ward – Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood #1)   ★★★★☆
I did not expect to love this book as much as I did. It’s definitely for a bit more mature audience, but it was very fun and captivating. I’m so glad I finally started this series and I know I’ll be continuing with it next month. However, this series is not for everyone, so keep that in mind. I also reviewed it.

9. Zoe Sugg – Girl Online   ★★★☆☆
This one was fun, cute and entertaining, but so damn unrealistic and ridiculous. I did enjoy it, but I had a lot of problems with the writing style and characters. However, I’d recommend it if you want something fun and quick. Make sure to check out my review as well.

10. Jessica Sorensen – The Secret of Ella and Micha (The Secret #1)   ★★★★☆
I adored this book. It was so cute and amazing and I am still not over it. I have a huge book hangover from it. I highly recommend. I also found some great music thanks to this book. Oh, I’m overwhelmed with feels again… For more information, there is, of course, a review.

11. Kiera Cass – The Elite (The Selection #2)   ★★★★☆
This series is so addicting and fun, of course I had to read the second book as soon as it was available in the library. These books frustrate me a lot when it comes to America’s love life, but I still love them so much. You know, there’s also a review.

12. Benjamin Alire Saenz – Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe   ★★★★★
I love this book so much. It’s an amazing, beautiful story which everyone should read. Definitely recommend! Surprise, surprise – I also wrote a review.

These are all the books I’ve finished this month, but I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t have a list of currently reading books. Let’s get to these. First, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson is still there. I know I should’ve already read it, but I always find something else I want to read more. However, I did enjoy what I read of it, it’s a good book. I’m just lazy. Then, I started A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin. I read a prologue and I didn’t pick it up since then, Again, I’m lazy. I should really get to it. And lastly, I started reading Erebos by Ursula Poznanski and the story behing that one is that I didn’t have time to finish it before August 1st. But I am definitely finishing it soon.

If you’re wondering about how I did in TBRTakedown and 7in7 Readathon, I didn’t do very well so that’s why I didn’t do a separate wrap-up for that. I managed to read 2 novels (The Secret of Ella and Micha and The Elite) and finish another one, which I had started before the readathons began (Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe). As you can see, I really failed. However, I hope Booktube-a-thon will go a bit better.

That would be it for this month. I’m happy with the amount of books I read, but at the same time I’m a bit disappointed because I know I could’ve read more. I was just lazy and spent way too much time procrastinating. That needs to change next month!
What did you read in July? Have you read any of these books? If so, make sure to tell me what you thought about them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

